Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Click the GET IT buttons within any of our databases to get the full text of the article (if available). We don't own every e-journal, but those that we do own will be available through the GET IT button. Those that aren't available can be requested through ILLiad.
Watch this video for more info.
I Found This Citation...
....so how can I get a copy of the article? We get that question a lot. We have a link on the library homepage to search just journal titles--it is linked below. Click on it and type in the title of the journal you are looking for (NOT the article title), and (if UST has access to the journal--in any format) you will get a list of where we have it. Sometimes it may be online, sometimes only in print at a library, and sometimes it may be in microform in a library. Try it out.
Try These Databases
Online databases are an important tool for locating journal articles and other documents related to your topic. The education databases (first 3) will have research articles as well as articles or documents with classroom teaching ideas for any subject area. The databases listed after Academic Search Premier, are specialized in various subject areas, and may provide additional resources on your topic.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) provides full-text research on a wide range of education topics. Includes peer-reviewed journals, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, and much more.
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide range of education topics from early childhood to higher ed as well as educational specialties like adult education, multilingual education, and more. Includes peer-reviewed journal articles, conference papers, books, and more.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed for professional educators, coverage includes a range of educational topics and research levels. Access full text, peer-reviewed journals, and high-quality education trade journals.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This is a broad interdisciplinary database--it has material on education topics--but isn't necessarily the place to start.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus covers sport, fitness, exercise and related disciplines. Included are journal and magazine articles, books, book chapters, and conference proceedings. Limited to 1 simultaneous user.
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Science Reference Center provides easy access to full-text science content including encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, web sites, pictures, illustrations, audio clips and video clips. Includes ability to limit by lexile reading levels.
Applied Science & Technology Full Text This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and trade publications on science, engineering & technology.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Good for ESL topics
Music Index This link opens in a new window
Has material on teaching music.
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Has resources on teaching art K-12.
Psychology and Child Development Databases
These are useful if you have a topic that has a psychology or child development element. They are supplementary to the choices above.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Start here when you need to find research in psychology. Which areas of psychology? Just about all of them. PsycINFO covers mental health, counseling, cognitive science, neuroscience, education, learning, family studies and language. Provides full-text access (back to the first issue) of the journals published by the American Psychological Association, as well as other association journals and many books and book chapters.
Contact me for assistance