It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Software Engineering Information Resources: Finding Articles
This guide covers library resources that support undergraduate and graduate level reseach in computer and software design. It will lead you to databases with helpful journal articles, books, websites, and other resources.
"Peer review" is the process through which experts in a field of study examine and assess the quality of articles before they are published. Peer review insures that the research described in a journal's articles is sound and of high quality.
Sometimes the term "refereed" is used instead of peer reviewed.
You can identify Peer reviewed journals in the following sources:
USE BOTH PUBLICATIONS. Neither identifies all peer reviewed journals, but together they are almost complete.
Search for the title of the journal. Look for "Refereed" in the record.
UST Interlibrary Loan Services
Use interlibrary loan to order articles and books that are not available in the UST Libraries system. Most journal articles will be delivered via e-mail. Access your "ILLiad" account with your UST username and password.
The Association of Computing Machinery is the premier society in computing and the ACM Digital Library provides abstracts and full text articles published in all ACM journals, transactions and conference proceedings since its founding in 1947. Topics cover all aspects of computing, including cloud computing, mobile technologies and security issues.
Featuring content from IEEE as well as the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET), IEL contains almost one-third of the world's current literature in electrical engineering, communications, and computer science. Use IEL to find 174 IEEE journals, magazines, and transactions, 26 IET journals and magazines, 20+ IET conference title proceedings from over 1,400 IEEE and IET annual conferences and more than 2,800 approved and published IEEE standards in key technology fields.
ScienceDirect offers access to the publications of Elsevier Science and its subsidiaries - nearly 2,500 journals and 30,000 books. The collection contains selected full text of journal articles (since 1995) and book chapters. The collection focuses on science, technology and medicine, it also contains many journal titles from other social science disciplines.
Business Source Premier provides the full text of more than 2 thousand business publications, including more than 1,000 peer reviewed journals. It is a comprehensive database that covers all disciplines of business including management, finance, marketing and international trade. It also contains company, industry and country reports, SWOTs and market research reports.
Gartner is an independent consulting company that provides research and analysis about global technology issues and their impact on organizations. Written by specialists in many fields of emerging technologies, the data from Gartner includes market research, product information, evaluations, vendor reviews and industry overviews. Not all reports are available in full text. Restricted to UST students, faculty, and staff.
Limited to current UST students, faculty and staff only. Walk-ins not permitted.
ABI/Inform Trade & Industry contains business and in depth company and industry articles from over 2,000 scholarly, trade and news publications. It also includes reports from major and smaller, niche industries that contain information for entrepreneurs and financial data perfect for marketing and business plans. Users can set up alerts, establish RSS feeds, and share articles. Users who establish a free account can save and organize research and tag articles which can be shared with other users.