Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Period Books, Newspapers and Magazine Articles
* Northwestern Chronicle (microfilm , 1866- 1935)
Minnesota's first Catholic newspaper, which including news from the Upper Midwest. No index is available.
* Catholic Bulletin (microfilm, 1911 - 1995)
The official newspaper of the Archdiocese of Saint Paul/Minneapolis. No index is available.
Minneapolis Star Tribune (Historical) 1867-2001
This database provides you access to the complete content of the Minneapolis Tribune, the Minneapolis Star and the Minneapolis Star Tribune (1867 – 2001) including all articles, editorials, advertisements and photographs.
ProQuest US Newsstream, including Star Tribune
This resource indexes the Star-Tribune (Minneapolis) from 1986 to the present. A print index to the Star-Tribune for the years 1976 - 1986 is available in the microfilm room on the Second Floor of the OSF Library along with the microfilm from 1977 - forward.
St. Paul Pioneer Press
Index to the Pioneer Press (St. Paul) newspaper from 1988 - present. A print index to the Pioneer Press covering 1971- 1996 is availabe in the microfilm room on the second floor of the OSF Library. The Library also has microfilm for this newspaper from 1966 - present.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
In this database, you will find full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life.
American Periodicals Series
With this database you have access to 1,500 magazines, newspapers and popular journal titles published in the United States dating 1741 through the 1930s.
Reader's Guide Retrospective
Use the Reader's Guide Retrospective index to locate articles published in popular press magazines and journals dating from 1890 to 1982.
New York Times (Historical)
This database provides you access to the complete content of The New York Times newspaper (1851 - 2008) including all articles, editorials, advertisements and photographs.
Washington Post (Historical)
This database provides you access to the complete content of Washington Post newspaper (1877 - 1997) including access to all articles, editorials, advertisements and photographs.
Chicago Defender (Historical)
This database provides you with access to the complete content the African-American newspaper, The Chicago Defender (1910-1975) including all articles, editorials, advertisements and photographs.
Pittsburgh Courier (Historical)
This database provides you with access to the complete content of the African-American newspaper, the Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002) including all articles, editorials, advertisements and photographs.
Sabin Americana: History of the Americas, 1500–1926
Sabin Americana, 1500–1926 is digital archive of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about North, Central and South America, and the Caribbean the from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s.
Find Primary Sources in Books
Search LibrarySearch to find primary sources in books and ebooks. When searching the catalog, you will want to use specific subject headings in your searches to single out the primary source materials. These subject headings are specialized "tag" added to the records to books by catalog librarians to provide accurate descriptions of books. Using the following headings in your search will help you find the source material you seek:
|diary or diaries
||songs and music
Find Archival Collections