Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Primary Source Books
Search CLICsearch to find primary sources in books and ebooks. When searching the catalog, you will want to use specific subject headings in your searches to single out the primary source materials. These subject headings are specialized "tag" added to the records to books by catalog librarians to provide accurate descriptions of books. Using the following subject headings in your search will help you find the source material you seek:
- literary collections
- personal narratives
- pictorial works
- songs and music
- diary or diaries
Example: A researcher needs to find first hand accounts of soldiers experiences during the U.S. Civil War. The most relevant subject heading for this search is:
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861 - 1865 -- Personal narratives
It is a long and complicated subject heading to remember. However, a researcher can use the the recommended terms in a keyword search to get similar results. For example:
"Civil War" and "United States" and "personal narratives"
Find Primary Source Books in Databases
The UST libraries subscribe to various databases which provide online access to primary source books.
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800
The Evans, Early American Imprint collection is a searchable full-image primary source collection which features books, pamphlets, and ephemera documenting life in 17th- and 18th-century America. It includes materials relating to agriculture, foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, slavery, temperance, and witchcraft.
Sabin Americana: History of the Americas, 1500–1926
Sabin Americana, 1500–1926 is digital archive of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about North, Central and South America, and the Caribbean the from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s.
Early English Books Online
Early English Books Online is searchable full-image primary source collection which features books, pamphlets, tracts and ephemera printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales in British North America as well as works published in English printed elsewhere between 1473 – 1700.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Eighteenth Century Collections Online captures the essence of the Enlightenment in Great Britain between 1701 and 1800 through digital access to materials ranging from books and directories to Bibles, sheet music, sermons and advertisements. It delivers every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.
Oxford African American Studies Center
The African American Studies Center contains brief articles on all aspects of the African-American experience along with images, primary sources, time lines, maps, tables, and reference resources.
Oxford Islamic Studies Online
Oxford Islamic Studies Online offers a multi-layered reference experience designed to provide a first stop for anyone needing information on Islam. Limited to 5 simultaneous users
Selected E-books of Primary Source Documents
Milestone Documents in American History
Contains primary source documents from the Revolutionary era to the twenty-first century. Each entry offers the full text of the document as well as an analytical essay that places the document in its historical context
Milestone Documents in World History
Covers 125 iconic primary source documents from ancient times to the present and from virtually every geographical region. Each entry offers the full text of the document in question as well as an in-depth, analytical essay that places the document in its historical context
Milestone Documents of American Leaders
Covers the lives of notable Americans and provides an in-depth study of the primary source texts they produced during their lifetimes; features presidents, jurists, and legislators to influential private citizens both past and present.
Google Book Search
Search Google Books for scanned images of books published before 1923..