Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Reference Resources
Wiley Online Library
Wiley Online Library
Wiley Online Library (formerly Blackwell Reference Online) is a vast online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences.
John's Hopkins Guide to Literary Thoery & Criticism
Oxford Handbooks Online: Literature
Online Encyclopedia and Dictionaries
Provides access to hundreds of online reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations from a variety of publishers. Covers both general reference and subject-specific reference titles for a variety of disciplines. Topic Pages give great background overviews on subjects.
Full-text encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Oxford English Dictionary
The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. The OED covers words from across the English-speaking world, from North America to South Africa, from Australia and New Zealand to the Caribbean. It also offers the best in etymological analysis and in listing of variant spellings, and it shows pronunciation using the International Phonetic Alphabet.
Gale Literature: Contemporary Authors
This resource provides complete biographical and bibliographical information and references on approximately 100,000 U.S. and international authors.
American National Biography Online
American National Biography provides biographical information relating to significant men and women from all periods of United States history. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
55,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2003. Limited to 3 simultaneous users.
African American Studies Center
Oxford African American Studies Center
The African American Studies Center contains brief articles on all aspects of the African-American experience along with images, primary sources, time lines, maps, tables, and reference resources.