Research and Course Guides: Philosophy: Journal Articles

Journals

Search CLICsearch

LibrarySearch searches many (but not all) library resources simultaneously, including LibrarySearch.

For more focused searches, use databases by subject or Ask a Librarian.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text of scholarly literature (journals) across an array of publishing formats and disciplines. It includes most peer-reviewed online journals. Use FIND IT@UST Libraries to get the full-text if not available in Google Scholar.

Find Articles

Philpapers This link opens in a new window
Phil Papers is a comprehensive directory of online philosophical articles and books by academic philosophers. It monitors journals in many areas of philosophy, as well as archives and personal pages. Phil Papers also accept articles directly from users, who can provide links or upload copies. Some features require that you sign in first, but creating an account is easy and free.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Now with over 200 full-text titles, the renowned philosophy index offers even more for undergraduates, graduate students and researchers. International in scope, The Philosopher’s Index with Full Text offers content from 139 countries. It provides full-text journals published in the United States and Britain as well as in 27 other countries.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access ebooks and scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences, and the social sciences. Journal content is often not available until 1+ years after publication.
Philosophy Documentation Center (Formerly POIESIS: Philosophy Online Serials) This link opens in a new window
Formerly Poiesis. Searchable access to the full text of St Thomas subscribed philosophy journals, plus indexing to dozens more.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE provides online access to a large selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals and ebooks.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials Plus This link opens in a new window
Our primary theology and religion index, with over 470 titles in full text out of over 2,250 titles indexed, primarily academic journal articles, books, review, and essays: international in scope. Includes the contents of the Catholic Periodical and Literature Index. Produced by the American Theological Library Association.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A good place to start your research, Academic Search Ultimate provides full text for scholarly publications and peer-reviewed journals as well as general interest sources.
Expanded content and coverage replacing Academic Search Premier.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Access to full-text available through UST subscription resources. Click "Get it@UST Libraries." to get free full-text.

GET IT

Click the GET IT buttons within any of our databases to get the full text of the article (if available). We don't own every e-journal, but those that we do own will be available through the GET IT button. Those that aren't available can be requested through ILLiad.

Watch this video for more info.

Subject Guide

Kathryn Burke

Email Me

Contact:

O’Shaughnessy-Frey Library | LIB 117

651 962-5027

Subjects: Aerospace Studies, Art History, Catholic Studies, Environmental, Geography, Geology, Mathematics, Philosophy, Physics, Sustainability, Theology & Religion