Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

THEO 431 - Women in the Early Church: Finding Articles

A guide to library resources about the lives and roles of Christian women in the first centuries.

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials Plus

JSTOR

Bibliography - Articles

T.J. van Bavel, "Augustine's View of Women,"
Augustiniana 39 (1989): 5-53.
 
Virginia Burrus, "The Heretical Woman as Symbol in Alexander, Athanasius, Epiphanius and Jerome,"
Harvard Theological Review 84 (1991): 230ff.
 
Virginia Burrus, Chastity as Autonomy: Women in the Stories of the Apocryphal Acts.
Studies in Women and Religion 23. Lewiston: NY / Queenson, ON: Edwin Mellen, 1987.
  
F. Cardman, "Acts of the Woman Martyrs,"
Anglican Theological Review 70 (1988): 144-150.
 
Elizabeth Carnelley, "Tertullian and Feminism,"
Theology 92(745) (1989): 31-34.
 
Elisabeth Castelli, "Virginity and Its Meaning for Women's Sexuality in Early Christianity,"
Journal of Feminist Studies in Religion 2 (1982): 61-88.
 
C.E. Cerling, Jr., "Women Ministers In The New Testament Church?"
Journal of the Evangelical Theological Society 19.3 (1976): 209-215.
 
Elizabeth A. Clark, "Ascetic Renunciation and Feminine Advancement: A Paradox of Late Ancient Christianity,"
Anglican Theological Review 63 (1981): 240-257. 
 
--- .Women in the Early Church.
Message of the Fathers of the Church 13. Wilmington: Michael Glazier, 1983.
 
--- . Ascetic Piety and Women's Faith: Essays on Late Ancient Christianity.
Studies in Women and Religion 20. Lewiston, NY: Edwin Mellen, 1986.
 
--- . "Ideology, History, and the Construction of 'Woman' in Late Ancient Christianity,"
Journal of Early Christian Studies (1994): 155-84.
 
Kate Cooper, "Insinuations of Womanly Influence: An Aspect of the Christianization of the Roman Aristocracy," Journal of Roman Studies 82 (1992): 150-64.
 
Church F. Forrester, "Sex and Salvation in Tertullian,"
Harvard Theological Review 68 (1975): 83-101.
 
Wayne Grudem, "The Meaning Of   ('Head': 'An Evaluation Of New Evidence, Real And Alleged,"
Journal of the Evangelical Theological Society 44.1 (2001): 25-65.
 
H. Wayne House, "A Biblical View of Women in the Ministry Part 5: Distinctive Roles for Women in the Second and Third Centuries,"
Bibliotheca Sacra 146: 581 (1989): 41-54.
 
Donald Kinder, "Clement of Alexandria: Conflicting Views on Women,"
Second Century 7.4 (1989/90): 213-220.

Frederick C. Klawiter, "The Role of Martyrdom and Persection in Developing the Priestly Authority of Women in Early Christianity: a Case Study of Montanism,"
Church History 49 (1980): 251-61.
 
George W. Knight, III, "The New Testament Teaching on the Role Relationship  of Male and Female With Special Reference to the Teaching/Ruling Functions in the Church,"
Journal of the Evangelical Theological Society 18.2 (1975): 81-91.
 
Ross S. Kraemer, "Women in the Religions of the Greco-Roman World,"
Religious Studies Review 9 (1983): 127-139.
 
Ramsey MacMullen, "Women in Public in the Roman Empire,"
Historia 29 (1980): 208-218.
 
Jo Ann McNamara, "Wives and Widows in Early Christian Thought,"
International Journal of Women's Studies 2 (1979): 575-592.
  
Michele Renee Salzman, "Aristocratic Women: Conductors of Christianity in the Fourth Century,"
Helios 16 (1989): 207-220.
 
4James G. Sigountos & Myron Shank, "Public Roles For Women in the Pauline Church:
A Reappraisal of the Evidence,"
Journal of the Evangelical Theological Society 26.3 (1983): 283-295.
 
H. Sivan, "On Hymens and Holiness in Late Antiquity. Opposition to Aristocratic Female Asceticism at Rome,"
Jahrbuch für Antike und Christentum 36 (1993): 81-93.
 
C.E. Cerling, Jr., "An Annotated Bibliography
of the New Testament Teaching About Women,"
Journal of the Evangelical Theological Society 16.1 (1973): 47-53.
 
A. Yarborough, Christianization in the Fourth Century: the Example of Women,
 Church History 45 (1976): 149-65.
 

LibrarySearch for Articles and More - Use our Theological Databases first, for focused results.

Women's Studies Library Research Guide

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text of scholarly literature (journals) across an array of publishing formats and disciplines. It includes most peer-reviewed online journals. Use FIND IT@UST Libraries to get the full-text if not available in Google Scholar.

Google Scholar Search

GET IT

Click the GET IT button in any database to get the full text of an article.  If UST Libraries doesn't own it, you'll be given an option to request it from another library

More information