Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Weekly epidemiological digest published by the Centers for Disease Control (CDC).
Search for Articles and more
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A good place to start your research, Academic Search Premier provides full text for scholarly publications and peer-reviewed journals as well as general interest sources.
Essential Databases for Biology
BioOne This link opens in a new window
BioOne provides full-text access to both current and archival "bioscience research journals, featuring timely content on a wide-array of today’s most pressing topics, including global warming, stem cell research, ecological and biodiversity conservation."
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles on all aspects of medicine, published all over the world. Use for human biology, anatomy, and physiology, psychiatry, pharmacology, and health care management, administration, and policy. The MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) search is extremely helpful in finding terms. After you find an especially appropriate article, click on Related Records to find other articles of interest.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect offers access to the publications of Elsevier Science and its subsidiaries - nearly 2,500 journals and 30,000 books. The collection contains selected full text of journal articles (since 1995) and book chapters. The collection focuses on science, technology and medicine, it also contains many journal titles from other social science disciplines.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus calls itself the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: over 21,500 scientific journals, 130,000 books and conference proceedings, covering all fields of academic study: science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Scopus also includes 8 different citation metrics, analyzing impact at the author, article, journal, and institution levels.
ClinicalTrials.gov is a database maintained by the U.S. National Library of Medicine of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world.
What is Peer Review?
"Peer review" is the process through which experts in a field of study examine and assess the quality of articles before they are published.
Sometimes the term "refereed" is used instead of "peer reviewed".
You can identify Peer reviewed journals in our database, Ulrich's:
Ulrichsweb This link opens in a new window
Ulrichsweb is a bibliographic database providing detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world. It covers all subjects, and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly and are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Large collection of ebooks on all subjects. Some books are downloadable.
eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window
Large collection of ebooks on all subjects. Please note that if someone else is using the book, you'll not have access until it is checked back in. Some books are limited to a single user at a time. Others allow unlimited simultaneous users.