Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Most major galleries and museums provide searchable access to catalogues and databases of their collections. Search for the title of the gallery or museum and look for links to their catalogues/databases.
Islamic Art at the Los Angeles County Museum of Art
Here is housed one of the most significant collections of Islamic art in the world. The collection comprises more than 1,700 works, of which some 150 examples are on view; these include glazed ceramics, inlaid metalwork, enameled glass, carved wood and stone, and manuscript illustrations illumination, and calligraphy.
Museum of Islamic Art Qatar
Dedicated in 2008 and designed by I.M. Pei, the museum is one of the world’s most complete collections of Islamic artifacts, ranging from Spain to Egypt to Iran, Iraq, Turkey, India and Central Asia.
Google Art Project
Explore museums all over the world.
Discover Islamic Art--Virtual Museum
14 countries from around the Mediterranean and Europe have contributed images of artefacts, monuments and sites cover the various Islamic dynasties and cultures of the Mediterranean region spanning some 1,280 years from 634 when the Muslim Arab armies first entered the Levant, to the fall of the Ottoman Empire at the beginning of the 20th century.
Benaki Museum Collection of Islamic Art
Holds over 8,000 works of art from the first appearance of Islam up to the 19th century in a 17th-century Cairo mansion.
Metropolitan Museum of Art
The Met has a permanent collection containing more than two million works of art, , with extensive holdings of African, Asian, Oceanic, Byzantine, and Islamic art.
Art Institute of Chicago
Its diverse holdings also include significant Old Master works, American art, European and American decorative arts, Asian art and modern and contemporary art.
Minneapolis Institute of Art
The Minneapolis Institute of Arts houses more than 80,000 objects from diverse cultural traditions spanning 5,000 years of world history, including examples of Islamic art.
Web Gateways to Islamic Art
13th century illustrated Persian text, the Ethics of Nasir.
ArchNet is an international online community for architects, planners, urban designers, landscape architects, conservationists, and scholars, with a focus on Muslim cultures and civilisations.
Iran Chamber Society
A non-profit, non-partisan site to could provide information on all aspects of Iranian/Persian history, art and culture.
Modern and Contemporary Art in Iran
The Metropolitan Museum's essay on modern Iranian art.
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
A chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of Islamic art from around the world.
Art History Resources
An enormous website operating since 1995 and still updated.
Smithsonian Collection Search Center
A one-stop center of Smithsonian images, videos, sound files and archives with focus on Islamic art.
Islamic Arts and Architecture
A non-profit organization dedicated to providing information on arts and architecture, having strong commitment to research and service, and promoting the awareness of Islamic arts as a humanistic study.
A comprehensive index of every artist represented at hundreds of museum sites, image archives, and other online resources.
Virtual Walking Tours of Historic Mosques
A virtual walking tour of the Suleymaniye Mosque in Istanbul Turkey presented by Saudi Aramco World
Al-Haram al-Sharif in Jerusalem
A Virtual walking tour of Al-Haram al-Sharif in Jerusalem, presented by Saudi Aramco World
A virtual walking tour of the Alhambra in Granada Spain, sponsored by Saudi aramco World