Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Book--Character strengths and virtues
Character Strengths and Virtues by
Publication Date: 2004-04-08
"Character" has become a front-and-center topic in contemporary discourse, but this term does not have a fixed meaning. Character may be simply defined by what someone does not do, but a more active and thorough definition is necessary, one that addresses certain vital questions. Is character a singular characteristic of an individual, or is it composed of different aspects? Does character--however we define it--exist in degrees, or is it simply something one happens to have? How can character be developed? Can it be learned? Relatedly, can it be taught, and who might be the most effective teacher? What roles are played by family, schools, the media, religion, and the larger culture? This groundbreaking handbook of character strengths and virtues is the first progress report from a prestigious group of researchers who have undertaken the systematic classification and measurement of widely valued positive traits. They approach good character in terms of separate strengths-authenticity, persistence, kindness, gratitude, hope, humor, and so on-each of which exists in degrees. Character Strengths and Virtues classifies twenty-four specific strengths under six broad virtues that consistently emerge across history and culture: wisdom, courage, humanity, justice, temperance, and transcendence. Each strength is thoroughly examined in its own chapter, with special attention to its meaning, explanation, measurement, causes, correlates, consequences, and development across the life span, as well as to strategies for its deliberate cultivation. This book demands the attention of anyone interested in psychology and what it can teach about the good life.
Elsevier Dictionary of Psychological Theories by
Describes psychological theories in all fields of psychology -- statistical, family therapy, personality, etc. The preface states that the book contains both good and "not so good" theories, expecting the descriptions to aid the reader in deciding which type of theory is encountered. Includes references to the original proposals and to later analyses and reviews.
Encyclopedia of Counseling by
Publication Date: 2008
Articles on positive psychology, self-efficacy, hope and leaders in positive psychology (Seligman, Deci and Csikszentmihalyi). Each article includes a list of 10-15 references fro further study
Electronic Brain and Human Behavior Reference Resources
These resources are available in ebook format through the CLICnet catalog. Click on the title link to go to the record in CLICnet which provides access to that publication.
Search for Books and eBooks
LibrarySearch provides a simple, one-stop search for books, articles, videos, recordings, and more. Items from St. Thomas and other regional libraries can be requested online and delivered to the St. Thomas library of your choice. My account
Psychology Reference Resources
These resources provide basic and background information for psychology research
Encyclopedia of Psychology
This resource, published by the American Psychological Association and Oxford University Press, is the basic set for the field. Articles are written by authorities in the field and include extensive bibliographies. This is also available in print in the OSF Library Reference collection. Call number: BF 31 .E52 2000. The title link is for Volume #1. Search in PsycBOOKS for the entire set and/or specific articles.
Volume 1 : A-B
Volume 2 : C-Determinants
Volume 3 : Developmental-Goodenough
Volume 4 : Government-Learned
Volume 5 : Learning-Oppositional
Volume 6 : Optimism-Rapaport
Volume 7 : Rape-S
Volume 8 : T-Z
MNCAT is the catalog for the resources available at the University of Minnesota. Search for information from their many research collections, such as BioMedical, Social Work, and Engineering.