It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Look at both industry and company information and you will get a complete picture of how a company works by itself and how it fits in its industry. This knowledge will be a great asset as you prepare for your interview or explore career options. Search Industry Profiles to learn more about the industry's history as well as expert analysis about where it may be headed. You will also find names of key players in the industry. Company Profiles provide details about how long a company has been in business, its history, revenue, CEO's name, location, etc.
Industry Overviews & Surveys
The UST Library has access to many more resources in the Industry Information LibGuide. Below are some of the more popular resources.
IBISWorld Industry Market Research Reports provide in-depth industry analysis for 700+ U.S. industries and hundreds of international industries. Searchable by keyword, company name, and NAICS codes. Reports average 25-30 pages and contain key statistics, market characteristics, segmentation, industry conditions, industry performance, key competitors, key factors, and industry outlook. UST’s subscription also includes industry-level coverage of U.S. states, Canada, China, and Global reports. Restricted to current UST students, faculty, and staff only.
Even on campus you must login with UST username and password.
Euromonitor’s Passport is a global market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, and surveys on industries, countries, and consumers worldwide. Restricted to current UST students, faculty, and staff only. Even on campus you must log in with your UST username/password.
Contains full-text articles from the Minneapolis/St. Paul Business Journal which provides in-depth news about Minnesota companies, the local business environment, and the Annual Book of Lists. It also contains additional business journals from other cities that covers regional news from across the United States. Users must sign up for a free account using their UST email with a separate password. Restricted to UST students, faculty, and staff. Works best with Chrome.
Mergent Intellect is useful for locating information about private companies. Intellect also covers public companies and includes a broad range of industry reports. Note: public company records in Intellect are not as detailed as those available in Mergent Online.
Use of the Mergent data and service are intended for non-commercial academic purposes only.
PrivCo database is UST Library’s premier source for finding information on privately-held companies. Company profiles include an overview of the firm, its leadership team/owners, and company financials. The profiles also contain, when available, detailed information on VC and private equity funding, private M&A deals, patent and copyright litigation, and IPO activities.
Contains information for millions of U.S. businesses nationwide. Search by company name, size, revenue or business costs (often these figures are estimated), location, industry, or many other characteristics. Choose US Businesses or US Standard White Pages, then Advanced Search. Exporting of data is limited to 100 items on-campus or 50 off-campus.
The following databases: American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries and Foreign Firms Operating in the United States have been combined into one dynamic resource called Uniworld Online. Uniworld Online is a searchable database that covers multinational companies with headquarters in over 200 countries and 20,000 industries. Uniworld Online offers more than 665,000 records consisting of global parent companies with their domestic and foreign subsidiaries.