Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
"Sure bet" Resource
Academic Search Premier
A good place to start your research, Academic Search Premier provides full text for scholarly publications and peer-reviewed journals as well as general interest sources.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Access to full-text available through UST subscription resources. Click "Get it@UST Libraries." to get free full-text.
Article Databases: Subject-Specific
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials Plus
Our primary theology and religion index, with 50 plus titles in full-text out of over 400 total indexed, primarily academic journal articles, books, reviews, and essays in collection; international scope. Scriptures search: find articles about passages by citation; browse by Book title, carefully look for applicable verse ranges.
Criminal Justice Abstracts Full-text
Criminal Justice Abstracts provides comprehensive coverage of international journals, books, reports, dissertations and unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines. This version provides full-text for approximately 200 criminal justice journals.
EconLit is the primary index of scholarly publications in Economics. It includes peer-reviewed journal articles, books, book reviews, collective volume articles, working papers, and dissertations. Published by the American Economic Association, covers more than thirty years of global economic literature. Good source for theoretical and methodological questions in economics & business.
Education Full Text
Education Full Text indexes over 770 education journals, as well as some monographs and yearbooks. Over 400 of the journals are peer-reviewed and almost half are available in full text. It also includes several peer-reviewed open access journals. The indexing starts in 1983, and the full text starts in 1996. Approximately 75-100 of the titles are not indexed in ERIC and it is a complementary resource to use with ERIC.
Covers global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Articles from scholarly, government and general-interest titles covering all aspects of human impact to the environment.
National Bureau of Economic Research Publications
This database provides access to scholarly economic research papers. Includes a handy list of economic data sources. Useful for economics, business, and public policy questions. The NBER is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. The group works to create and distribute unbiased economic research among public policymakers, business professionals, and the academic community.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts
The National Criminal Justice Reference Service Database contains summaries of the more than 200,000 criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources housed in the NCJRS Library collection. This database is sponsored by several departments within the Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice, and the Office of National Drug Control Policy and includes information on resources published by these agencies.
SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text identifies resources in the field of sociology and related subject areas. It indexes over 3000 journals and provides full text for 890 journals, several dating back to 1908. It also includes full text for over 850 books and monographs, as well as over 16,800 conference reports. It also includes a thesaurus of sociological terms.
ScienceDirect offers access to the publications of Elsevier Science and its subsidiaries - nearly 2,500 journals and 30,000 books. The collection contains selected full text of journal articles (since 1995) and book chapters. The collection focuses on science, technology and medicine, it also contains many journal titles from other social science disciplines.
Science Reference Center
Science Reference Center provides easy access to full-text science content including encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, web sites, pictures, illustrations, audio clips and video clips. Includes ability to limit by lexile reading levels.
ProQuest US Newsstream, including Star Tribune
US Newsstream enables users to search current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. It features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, along with national and regional news sources including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Star Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, and Chicago Tribune.
Access World News
This database contains electronic editions of thousands of local, national and international newspapers, along with broadcast transcripts and college and university news. It also includes the St. Paul Pioneer Press and the Star Tribune.
Comprehensive collection of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press. All articles are full-text. Updated quarterly. 1990- .
Westlaw Campus Research
Westlaw Campus has a broad selection of federal and state statutes, regulations, and case law. It is designed for the academic market and is not the full Westlaw database available to law schools. It also provides the full text of international, U.S., state, and local newspapers, magazines and wire services as well as company and industry financial data, SEC filings and news from business publications.