Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Trade publications (also referred to as trade journals or the trade press) are written specifically for participants in the industry. They feature articles, ads, special reports, and more on industries, companies, executives, consumers, and business trends. They are a good source of current industry news, and may offer industry and market statistics that you cannot find elsewhere. Check the source of data in reports to see if you can access more information.
Business Source Premier
Includes articles from trade publications and scholarly journals as well as company profiles, investment research reports, industry reports, market research, country reports, and SWOT analysis.
ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry
Contains industry reports and articles from trade and news publications, and is good for researching smaller, niche industries.
Newspapers & Business News
Articles published in leading business magazines, trade journals, and newspapers can be excellent sources of current information on companies. Articles may also be the only way to locate information on small, private companies, or on subsidiaries of publicly-held companies. They often provide added depth and insight into an industry’s structure, strategy and competition. News articles related to an industry can supplement the overviews or data found in online sources. If you were not able to find an industry report, news articles can collectively provide an overview of the industry.
ProQuest US Newsstream, including Star Tribune
Global Newsstream searches the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites. Full text of The New York Times, Star Tribune, Pioneer Press, and Wall Street Journal.
Access World News
Contains thousands of national and international newspapers and other news sources, including campus news, broadcast news transcripts and business news. Excellent source for smaller news outlets.
Bizjournals contains full text articles from the Minneapolis/St. Paul Business Journal which provides in depth news about Minnesota companies and business environment along with 39 additional business journals from other cities. It also contains the annual Book of Lists which provides local company rankings going back to 1996. Limited to 50 simultaneous users. Sometimes full-text requires a username and password.
Factiva News articles from publications around the world including the Wall Street Journal, the New York Times, and the Financial Times. It also contains many smaller market news sources, trade magazines, and journals. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
Ethnic NewsWatch Comprehensive collection of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press. All articles are full-text. Updated quarterly. 1990- .
Regional Business News Coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
St. Paul Pioneer Press Archive of the St. Paul Pioneer Press from 1988 to present.