Research and Course Guides: Digital Humanities Resources: Digital Exhibits & Timelines

Archives & Exhibit Tools

Omeka
Open-source web publishing platform for sharing digital collections and creating online exhibits. One of the most commonly used platforms for sharing digital humanities projects.
Scalar
An open-source scholarly publishing platform.
Mukurtu CMS
An open-source platform built with Indigenous communities to manage and share digital cultural heritage.
TimelineJS
An open-source tool for building interactive timelines that can feature images, videos, and other visuals.

Sources for Digital Images

Here is a short list of sources for free-to-use, mostly open-source images. Consult each source's usage guidelines, within the context of fair use rights. Use appropriate citations and attributions.

UST Libraries' Digital Collections
Items from the Libraries' Special Collections & Archives.
Visual Arts at St. Thomas
The Art History department's online collections.

Artstor on JSTOR

Over 2 million images from around the world, covering many time periods, cultures, and disciplines; discoverable alongside JSTOR’s journals, books, and other primary sources.

MN Historical Society Collections Online
Find photos, maps, etc.

more... less...

See also the full scope of the collections at: http://www.mnhs.org/research.
Minneapolis Institute of Arts (Mia) Images
Browse the collections.

more... less...

Image use and access guidelines: http://new.artsmia.org/contact-us/#image_use_and_access
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Photos, maps, documents, audio, video.
Metropolitan Museum Image Resources
Most of the Met's online collection images are now open access.

more... less...

See their terms and conditions: http://www.metmuseum.org/about-the-met/policies-and-documents/image-resources
Wikimedia Commons
Public domain, Creative Commons, other.
Google Art Project
Explore museums all over the world.