A library database is a collection of digital resources that contain a wide range of materials, including academic journals, articles, newspapers, books, and streaming videos. Library databases can be subject specific, or cover multiple disciplines such as science, technology, humanities, and social sciences. They are a centralized and organized platform for students to access credible information for their research.
The UST Libraries subscribe to hundreds of databases and students can search these databases using keywords or phrases to find relevant and reliable materials. Access to these databases is restricted to members of the UST community.
This guide only scratches the surface of the number of library databases students have access to. For more information and individualized research assistance, please contact Kate Burke (kmburke@stthomas.edu) or Andrea Koeppe (arkoeppe@stthomas.edu)
Regardless of your topic, a good place to start is with Academic Search Ultimate, a multi-disciplinary database.
Full text for thousands of peer-reviewed journals and general interest sources across many subject areas.
Scholarly and trade publications on science, engineering & technology.
Articles and other publications on computer science, software, hardware, computational theory, artificial intelligence, information science, human-computer interaction, and instructional technology.
This is a comprehensive database that contains abstracts and the full text of thousands of business and news publications as well as country and industry reports, company profiles, SWOTs, and market research reports.
Provides comprehensive coverage of research on criminal justice and criminology, including psychological, sociological, and legal aspects.
In-depth articles on controversial topics such in areas like politics, government, business, education, and popular culture. Includes supporting resources like timelines, statistics, and pros/cons statements.