Open your Zotero library by clicking on the "Z" in the upper right hand corner of your browser. Zotero can automatically tell if you are looking at a book, article, or website online. In the upper right hand corner of your browser, an icon will display next to the Zotero "Z" icon. Select the icon to save the resource to your Zotero Library.
Also, if you're on a page with more then one resource, the icon will display as a manila folder. Then you can choose multiple items to add to your Zotero library.
Zotero can also save newspapers, blogs, audio recordings, artwork and tons more. Usually Zotero displays the icon in the upper right hand corner of Firefox to reflect what the item is, but if Zotero isn't sure what the item you're saving actually is, Zotero will save it as a website and you can edit the details of the item after it is saved.
Easily organize your citations by creating folders - click on the yellow manila envelope in the top left hand corner of the Zotero panel. Name the collection, and then add the citations to it by dragging and cropping the resource from your main Zotero library. Citations can exist in multiple collections folders at once without you having to save the citation more then once.
It's also easy to attach files or PDFs to your citations. Simply drag and drop the item into the citation you want it to be attached to, or, to create a new citation, drop them in between library citations.
To create a bibliography, open Zotero by clicking the "Z" in the upper right hand corner of the browser, then right click on the folder that contains the citations you plan to make into a bibliography. Choose "Create Bibliography from Collection"
Choose the citation style you want to use, the output mode will automatically be set to "Bibliography" and you can opt to either save the document as an RTF or copy to clipboard. Either method will allow you to copy and paste the bibliography into your paper.
Zotero also allows you to create in-text citations by using a Word Processor Integration PlugIn. Click here to find out more.
Zotero comes with many citation styles, but many more are available to download.
To install a style (via Firefox browser):
To install a style (via Zotero Standalone):
The new style will appear in Zotero's style file.