Research and Course Guides: ENGL 121/203 Porter, Webster: Background Materials

Critical articles about a literary work or author

Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Limit your search to Name of Work or Person-By or About
Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window
Search for your work and/or author, then limit to the Content Types of Criticism and Secondary Works

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A good place to start your research, Academic Search Ultimate provides full text for scholarly publications and peer-reviewed journals as well as general interest sources.
Expanded content and coverage replacing Academic Search Premier.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access ebooks and scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences, and the social sciences. Journal content is often not available until 1+ years after publication.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search across multiple disciplines and source types from one convenient place. Connect to Google Scholar through the library’s page to get free full text of articles brought to you by UST.

Gale Literature: Contemporary Authors This link opens in a new window
This resource provides complete biographical and bibliographical information and references on approximately 100,000 U.S. and international authors.
American National Biography Online This link opens in a new window
American National Biography provides biographical information relating to significant men and women from all periods of United States history. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
55,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2003. Limited to 3 simultaneous users.