The Mindful Musician by Vanessa CornettIn The Mindful Musician: Mental Skills for Peak Performance, author Vanessa Cornett offers guidelines to help musicians cultivate artistic vision, objectivity, freedom, quiet awareness, and self-compassion, both on- and offstage in order to become more resilient performers. Contrary to modern culture's embrace of busyness and divided attention, Cornett's contemplative techniques provide greater space for artistic self-expression and satisfaction. With the aid of a companion website that includes audio files and downloadable templates, The Mindful Musician provides a method to promote attentional focus, self-assessment, emotional awareness, and creativity. The first of its kind to combine mindfulness practices with research in cognitive and sport psychology, this book helps musicians explore the roots of anxiety and other challenges related to performance, all through the deliberate focus of awareness.
Call Number: ML3830 .C62 2019
Publication Date: 2019-06-25
The Balanced Musician by Lesley Sisterhen McAllisterCompetition (works on the psychosomatics of musical performance and technique)Mastering the Art of Performance by Stewart Gordon (Oxford, 2005/Jan 2010), 224 pages, $40 cloth, $19.95 paper. (Trade) Cloth: Pub Alley: 523 units (cloth), $13,788.19; (paper) 31 units, $619.90 BookScan: 1,268 units (cloth); 267 units (paper) WorldCat: 941 records Musical Excellence: Strategies and Techniques to Enhance Performance. Edited by Aaron Williamon (Oxford, 2004), 320 pages, $98.50 cloth, $69.95 paper. (Professional) Cloth: Pub Alley: 42 units (cloth), $4,644.91; 160 units (paper), $7,787.07 BookScan: 3 (cloth); 179 (paper) WorldCat: 320 recordsPsychology for Performing Artists: Butterflies and Bouquets, 2nd ed., by G.D. Wilson (Wiley, 2002), 250 pages, $70 paper. (Professional) Pub Alley: 65 units, $2,655.24 BookScan: 32 units WorldCat: 114 records
Call Number: ML3830 .M33 2013
Publication Date: 2012-11-21
The Musician's Way by Gerald KlicksteinIn The Musician's Way, veteran performer and educator Gerald Klickstein combines the latest research with his 30 years of professional experience to provide aspiring musicians with a roadmap to artistic excellence. Part I, Artful Practice, describes strategies to interpret and memorize compositions, fuel motivation, collaborate, and more. Part II, Fearless Performance, lifts the lid on the hidden causes of nervousness and shows how musicians can become confident performers. Part III, Lifelong Creativity, surveys tactics to prevent music-related injuries and equips musicians to tap their own innate creativity. Written in a conversational style, The Musician's Way presents an inclusive system for all instrumentalists and vocalists to advance their musical abilities and succeed as performing artists.
Call Number: MT75 .K74 2009
Planning Your Piano Success by Stewart GordonYoung pianists pursuing a professional career face a barrage of questions, choices, and challenges. In this book, experienced teacher and performer Stewart Gordon offers a new and practical way to approach them by helping readers to plan strategically and build a secure and successful careerfrom the ground up. For decades, Gordon has guided young pianists through the details of how to prepare musically, navigate their college years, and forge a career that will provide a livelihood.In this guide to beginning that musical career, Gordon has assembled the wisdom of decades of teaching: a fundamental body of information emerging pianists will rely on as they work toward their goals. His advice, focused on both mental and practical work, will enhance both motivation and security.Carefully balancing aspiration with reality and inspiration with organization, Gordon creates a blueprint for transforming dreams into achievement, and illustrates his points with examples drawn from the lives of famous musicians. The book also addresses many practical matters, such as developingkeyboard technique, acquiring reading and memorizing skills, building repertoire, and balancing the demands of being a musician with living a full life. This volume is a valuable resource for both young pianists and their parents.
Call Number: ML3795 .G755 2014
The Pianist's Problems by William Newman"The reader must have noted in the favorite magazines of the practicing pianist how often the same troubled queries reappear: How can memorizing be made easier and more secure? How can the fourth and fifth fingers be strengthened? What produces musicianship? These and many others are perennial questions of the greatest practical importance to student, teacher, and performer. Strange, then, that adequate answers are so hard to find. With all the time and effort devoted to the study of the piano, with all the advances in the psychology of training, with all the special studies that have been conducted, there should be, by now, if not one right answer to each question, at least a preferred answer that will be right for the large majority of pianists. As a matter of fact, there are preferred answers in almost every instance. . . . The need is to bring these answers together, in one place, and to present them in nontechnical language as a concise, up-to-date, coordinated philosophy of piano playing. To meet this need, the present book has been written."-from the Preface
Call Number: MT220 .N5 1986
Adaptive Strategies for Small-Handed Pianists by Lora Deahl; Brenda WristenAdaptive Strategies for Small-Handed Pianists brings together information from biomechanics, ergonomics, physics, anatomy, medicine, and piano pedagogy to focus on the subject of small-handedness. The first comprehensive study of its kind, the book opens with an overview of historical, anatomical, and pedagogical perspectives and redresses long-held biases concerning those who struggle at the piano because of issues with hand size. A discussion of work efficiency, the human anatomy, and the constraints of physics serves as the theoretical basis for a focused analysis of healthy movement and piano technique as they relate to small-handedness. Separate chapters deal with specific alternative approaches: redistribution, refingering, strategies to maximize reach and power, and musical solutions for technical problems. Richly illustrated with hundreds of examples from a wide range of piano repertoire, the book is an incomparable resource for piano teachers and students, written in language that is accessible to a broad audience. It balances scholastic rigor with practical experience in the field to demonstrate that the unique physical and musical needs of the small-handed can be addressed in sensitive and appropriate ways.
Call Number: MT221 .D43 2017
The Musician's Body by Jaume Rosset I LlobetMusicians suffer greatly from industry-related injury and illness, and many of these problems are established during student days or even before. This affects all forms of music-making from classical through jazz and rock to traditional folk. Hearing damage is of serious concern in most forms of music-making, but the most stressful situations and the most physical damage is recorded in the practice of classical music. The long hours of practice at the beginning of a musician's career are the main source of problems that sometimes only reveal themselves in later life. This book is aimed equally at student musicians, practising musicians, and instrumental and vocal teachers, and it aims to help them to begin to understand how and why their bodies function as they do when they perform and also how they may avoid professionally related illness or injury and achieve the highest standards of performance. The principal author, Dr Jaume Rosset i Llobet, is a medical expert and an internationally acclaimed researcher on the subject. He is the Director of a Centre for the Physiology of The Arts in Terrassa, Catalonia, one of the few clinics in the world to which musicians, dancers and performing artists can go for assessment and treatment. The book provides examples and references to the health of musicians covering a wide range of musical genres based on current research, practice and treatment. As well as physiological exposition, copiously illustrated with medical and humorous diagrams, the book covers ergonomics, risk factors, posture, breathing, matters of diet and accommodation of professional needs in daily life.
Call Number: ML3820 .R67 2007
Fit as a Fiddle by William J. DawsonInstrumental musicians can and do develop many physical problems that interfere with making music. Fit as a Fiddle is written by an international authority in musicians' medicine who also is a symphonic musician and teacher. It provides current and important health-related information for all instrumentalists, presented in an understandable and readable fashion. Dr. Dawson includes a section on basic body structure and function, avoiding medical jargon and setting the stage for following chapters. Further topics include those disorders that are caused by playing music: including overuse, muscle strain, and tendinitis. Subsequent chapters discuss a variety of conditions common to mature performers and teachers, especially carpal tunnel syndrome, arthritis and hearing loss. Each chapter provides self-help advice to both musician and music teacher in recognizing problems, seeking medical care, and choosing treatment strategies. Dr. Dawson includes information on alternate care disciplines, as well as on rehabilitation and prevention of both common and uncommon conditions that can interfere with practice and performance. The book contains a helpful glossary of medical terms, both familiar and unfamiliar. Fit as a Fiddle is written specifically for instrumental musicians of all ages and degrees of experience, as well as their teachers from primary to conservatory level.
Playing (Less) Hurt by Janet Horvath(Book). Making music at any level is a powerful gift. While musicians have endless resources for learning the basics of their instruments and the theory of music, few books have explored the other subtleties and complexities that musicians face in their quest to play with ease and skill. The demands of solitary practice, hectic rehearsal schedules, challenging repertoire, performance pressures, awkward postures, and other physical strains have left a trail of injured, hearing-impaired, and frustrated musicians who have had few resources to guide them. Playing Less Hurt addresses this need with specific tools to avoid and alleviate injury. Impressively researched, the book is invaluable not only to musicians, but also to the coaches and medical professionals who work with them. Everyone from dentists to orthopedists, audiologists to neurologists, massage therapists and trainers will benefit from Janet Horvath's coherent account of the physiology and psyche of a practicing musician. Writing with knowledge, sympathetic insight, humor, and aplomb, Horvath has created an essential resource for all musicians who want to play better and feel better.
The Art of French Piano Music by Roy HowatAn essential resource for scholars and performers, this study by a world-renowned specialist illuminates the piano music of four major French composers, in comparative and reciprocal context. Howat explores the musical language and artistic ethos of this repertoire, juxtaposing structural analysis with editorial and performing issues. He also relates his four composers historically and stylistically to such predecessors as Chopin, Schumann, Liszt, the French harpsichord school, and Russian and Spanish music. Challenging long-held assumptions about performance practice, Howat elucidates the rhythmic vitality and invention inherent in French music. In granting Faur#65533; and Chabrier equal consideration with Debussy and Ravel, he redresses a historic imbalance and reshapes our perceptions of this entire musical tradition. Outstanding historical documentation and analysis are supported by Howat’s direct references to performing traditions shaped by the composers themselves. The book balances accessibility with scholarly and analytic rigor, combining a lifetime’s scholarship with practical experience of teaching and the concert platform
Call Number: ML724 .H6 2009
Interpreting Bach at the Keyboard by Paul Badura-SkodaThe ever-increasing number of performances of Bach's music is a sign of its enduring vitality. Yet there exists a diversity of interpretation of a magnitude that probably applies to no other composer. Assessing the varying merits of these interpretational approaches, and getting to grips withthe sources and documents on which they are based, can be extremely difficult for a modern performer.Paul Badura-Skoda, who has been studying and performing Bach's keyboard music for more than forty years, here presents a host of valuable new insights drawn from his deep knowledge of the sources and of the problems of interpretation. He looks in detail at the various aspects of Bach's music,providing chapters on rhythm, tempo, articulation, and dynamics. He also examines the instruments for which Bach's music was intended, and discusses interpretational issues arising from this, as well as problems of sonority. The second part of the book is devoted to a comprehensible discussion ofornamentation with a detailed examination of the signs and symbols used by Bach. This discussion is prompted not only by its central importance to baroque music in general, but also because the author believes so much of Bach's ornamentation in current performance practice is monotonous and fails tocorrespond to the baroque style at all.Sometimes contentious, always stimulating, Paul Badura-Skoda's text conveys a passion for an informed interpretation of Bach's music based upon a recognition and respect for Bach's musical and intellectual intentions. Copiously illustrated throughout with music examples, Interpreting Bach at theKeyboard will take its place as a standard work for all students and performers of Bach's keyboard music.
Call Number: ML410.B1 B24513 1993
Interpreting Bach's Well-Tempered Clavier by Ralph KirkpatrickThis book sets forth the provocative theories of a musician who has been called the outstanding harpsichordist of this century. The late Ralph Kirkpatrick reveals here his approach to a deeper comprehension of music, showing how his methods are applied to the preludes and fugues of the Well-Tempered Clavier of J.S. Bach. "This book is brilliant and important."--Clavier "All keyboardists performing classical repertoire can greatly benefit from Kirkpatrick's scholarship, dry wit, and stubborn dedication."--Keyboard "That Mr. Kirkpatrick's extraordinarily perceptive mind knew the subject matter thoroughly is beyond dispute. . . Valuable insights into the analysis, teaching and performance of all Western music, especially Bach's monumental Well-Tempered Clavier."--Arthur Lawrence, The American Organist "We are fortunate to have this book by Ralph Kirkpatrick. . . From it we gain insight into the musical mind of one of the outstanding performers of our century."--The Music Review "The real matter of the book is good old-fashioned musicianship."--Denis Arnold, London Review of Books
The Pianist's Guide to Pedaling by Joseph Banowetz" . . . a most precious book which every serious pianist and teacher must own." --Journal of the American Liszt Society Joseph Banowetz and four distinguished contributors provide practical suggestions and musicological insights on the pedaling of keyboard works from the 18th to the 20th century.
Call Number: MT227 .B2 1985
Artistic Pedal Technique by Katherine FaricyInformative and insightful, this comprehensive manual presents intermediate to advanced pianists with invaluable lessons for developing an artful pedal technique. Students will appreciate the clearly written instructions and detailed pedal notation in executing the many exercises in this hands-on workbook. Features include exercises to develop control of the damper pedal at various depths, lessons in playing with such techniques as syncopated pedal, simultaneous pedal, flutter pedal, and legatissimo pedal. There is extensive discussion of the stylistic principles of applying the pedal in Baroque, Classical, Romantic, Impressionistic, and Contemporary music, There are examples from the music of Mozart, Haydn, Beethoven, Schubert, Mendelssohn, Chopin, Schumann, Liszt, Brahms, Debussy, Ravel, Bart#65533;k, and others, along with examples from the music of North American composers such as Samuel Barber, Boris Berlin, Aaron Copland, Jean Coulthard, and Alexina Louie. Teachers find this book most helpful as they provide their students of all ages with a fine background in pedaling.
Call Number: MT227 .F37 2004
The Craft of Piano Playing by Alan FraserIn The Craft of Piano Playing, master pianist Alan Fraser offers readers an original and comprehensive approach to piano technique, offering over 100 illustrations and a series of unique exercises to guide the reader. Drawing on his many years as a performer and teacher, his long-standing collaborations with pedagogue Phil Cohen and virtuoso Kemal Gekich, and his professional training in the Feldenkrais Method, Fraser introduces his truly innovative piano technique by - Teaching how to move your hands with greater sensitivity, power, and accuracy, and honing the skeletal alignments to help you access your innate, structural potency; - Linking your physical technique to musical expression, creating an "absolutely natural way of moving at the piano that is powerful, flexible, and musical" (Piano News, Germany); and - Keeping your hands healthy while avoiding the threats of tendonitis, carpal tunnel syndrome, focal dystonia, and RSI. This revised second edition joins the DVD of the same name, his study guide, and his latest book, Honing the Pianistic Self-Image, in Alan Fraser's growing line of piano pedagogical materials. This edition includes new chapters, such as "Arm Rhythm" and "The Body's Support of Natural Finger Shape," updated material reflecting evolutions in Fraser's technical and pedagogical thinking, a "cleaner and leaner" literary style, and more extensive, better-organized tables of contents, with cross-references to corresponding chapters in the DVD. For more information please visit www.maplegroveproductions.com, www.craftofpiano.com, or www.alanfraser.net
Call Number: MT220 .F8 2011
Publication Date: 2011-08-29
The Pianist's Craft by Richard Paul AndersonNo pianist can experience the full flowering of her art without eventually grappling with those great musical minds who composed specifically for piano. In The Pianist's Craft, Richard Anderson collects from his fellow pianist-scholars 19 articles on the teaching, preparation, and performance of works by the greatest composers in the standard piano repertoire. This collection ranges in subject matter from Inge Rosar's meditation on playing Bach on the modern keyboard to Gary Amato's assessment of Haydn's sonatas, from Christie Skousen's review of tone production in Chopin to GwenolynMok's foray into recreating Ravel's works on an Erard piano, the same used by Ravel himself. Readers will find essays as well on Mozart's piano compositions, Beethoven's sonatas, the influence of Schubert's lieder on his piano works, and works by Schumann, Liszt, Brahms, Debussy, Rachmaninoff, Scriabin, Prokofiev, Shostakovich, Bart k, Gershwin, and Crumb. The contributors--all recognized nationally and internationally for their contributions as performing artists, teachers, recording artists, and clinicians--write thoughtfully about the composers whose work they have studied and played for years. Each author addresses issues unique to the individual composer they have chosen to explore, examining questions of phrasing, tempo, articulation, dynamics, rhythm, color, gesture, lyricism, instrumentation, and genre. Valuable insight is provided into teaching, performing, and preparing these great works. In The Pianist's Craft these great artists and teachers answer questions for readers that are otherwise only addressed in conferences, master classes, and private lessons. In this collection of essays, key points of information and instruction are offered with over 200 musical examples included as illustration. The Pianist's Craft is intended for teachers and students of the intermediate and advanced levels of piano, instructors and performers at the university level, and those who love piano and piano music generally.
Call Number: ML700 .P53 2012
Playing Beyond the Notes by Deborah Rambo SinnPlaying Beyond the Notes: A Pianist's Guide to Musical Interpretation demystifies the vague and complex concept of musical interpretation in Western tonal piano music by boiling it down to basic principles in an accessible writing style. Its intended audience is performing pianists,independent piano teachers, and piano pedagogy students, and the over 200 repertoire excerpts in the book cover the intermediate to advanced piano literature.Rather than dealing with issues pertaining to performance practice, specific composers, or genres, this book focuses solely on musical interpretation. Each chapter tackles a different interpretive principle, explaining clearly, for example, how to play effective ornaments and rubatos or how tounderstand transitional sections of pieces. The author supplies a helpful checklist of questions at the end of each chapter. The book aims to help pianists understand concrete ways to apply interpretive concepts to their own playing and to give teachers practical ways to teach interpretation totheir students. The book is supplemented by a companion website that hosts over 100 audio recordings to enhance the reader's experience.
Call Number: ONLINE
The Contemporary Piano by Alan ShockleyWith Contemporary Piano: A Performer and Composer's Guide to Techniques and Resources, Alan Shockley provides a comprehensive resource for composers writing music that uses extended techniques for the piano, and for pianists interested in playing repertoire that makes use of techniques and/or implements unfamiliar to them. Shockley explains dozens of ways to prepare a piano without damaging the instrument, how to notate every standard technique and many, many obscure ones, and the specific geographies of every common concert hall piano. This will be the standard reference for pianists touring and playing inside-the-piano repertoire, and for composers at all levels of familiarity with the piano hoping to understand the mechanical miracle that is the modern piano.
Call Number: MT40 .S56 2018
Masters of the Keyboard by Konrad Wolff..". fluently written and often humorous... " --Notes ..". should be required reading for performers andteachers." -- The Eighteenth Century Konrad Wolffcharacterizes in detail the personal musical language of several great masters ofthe piano, pursuing different lines of investigation to discover each composer'sessential traits. He brings the accumulated wisdom of his long career as a pianistand teacher to this delineation of compositional styles. Both intellect andmusicality contribute to his cogent observations, and his literary style is aseloquent as the music he describes.
Call Number: ML705 .W64 1983
Performance Practices in Classic Piano Music by Sandra P. Rosenblum..". is and will remain unsurpassed as the study dealing with performance practice as it pertains to keyboard music of the Classical period." -- American Music Teacher "Rosenblum's monumental achievement is thorough, objective, balanced, and imaginative, a compelling blend of love and respect for the solo, chamber, and concerto literature she addresses." -- Journal of Musicological Research "The extent and quality of her research, the depth of her perception, and her musicianship together break new ground in the study of historic performance practice." -- Early Keyboard Journal "Her attention to details is absolutely scrupulous; no stone unturned, no argument unquestioned or unstated." -- The Musical Times "Its importance to thoughtful musicians cannot be overstated." -- Choice ..". thoroughly musicological." -- Performance Practice Review ..". indispensable... " -- New York Times
Call Number: ML705 .R67 1988
Nineteenth-Century Piano Music by David WittenNineteenth-Century Piano Musicclarifies some theoretical concepts, debunks some longstanding myths, and above all, stimulates the reader's intellectual curiosity about the piano repertoire of the 19th century. While our emotions tell us that this repertoire is thrilling to hear and exciting to play, our intellect demands explanations, some of which are provided in the essays in this collection.
Call Number: ML706 .N58 1997
Interpreting Mozart by Eva Badura-Skoda; Paul Badura-SkodaOriginally published in German as Interpreting Mozart on the Keyboard in 1957, this definitive work on the performance of Mozart's works has greatly influenced students and scholars of keyboard literature and of Mozart. Now, in a completely updated and revised edition, this book includes the last half century of scholarship on Mozart's music, addressing the elements of performance and problems that may occur in performing Mozart's works on modern instruments.
Call Number: ML410.M9 B1413 2008
Haydn's Keyboard Music by Bernard HarrisonIn this comprehensive study of performance practice in Haydn's keyboard music, Bernard Harrison confronts the important issues facing any performer of Haydn's keyboard music. He deals with the full range of Haydn's keyboard work - concertos, divertimenti, concertini, trios, Klavierstucke, andsonatas - and emphasizes the connection between performance practice and compositional style. He addresses many of the most controversial issues in recent research on the performance practice of eighteenth- century music, and takes a stance on some of the recurring controversies in Haydn research.Haydn's ornamentation is treated in four extensive chapters which range over Haydn's changing notational practices, the large corpus of 18th-century theoretical information on performance, and an examination of the music itself. Other issues in performance are elucidated in wide-rangingdiscussions, and Harrison presents new evidence on the question of the influence of C.P.E. Bach on Haydn. He surveys broader aspects of interpretation, commenting sympathetically but critically on the phenomenon of `early music'.
Call Number: ML410.H4 H315 1997
Beethoven on Beethoven by William S. NewmanIn this provocative new study, William Newman presents to the reader "whatever intentions on Beethoven's part can be documented or can be supported by reasoning and analysis in the primary sources for his music." His aim, in brief, is to get as close as possible to the performance practices Beethoven himself had in mind for his piano music, both solo and ensemble works.