Piano Literature for Teaching and Performance by Jane MagrathAn invaluable resource for teachers, students, and performers, this title features works from the Baroque through Contemporary periods. The book contains annotations with composer information, musical characteristics, and pedagogical considerations; newer works by living composers; listings from under-represented and women composers; and suggested grade levels from 1 through 10.
Call Number: ML128.P3 M128 2021
Publication Date: 2021
Beethoven's Piano Sonatas by Charles RosenBeethoven's piano sonatas form one of the most important collections of works in the whole history of music. Spanning several decades of his life as a composer, the sonatas soon came to be seen as the first body of substantial serious works for piano suited to performance in large concert halls seating hundreds of people. In this comprehensive and authoritative guide, Charles Rosen places the works in context and provides an understanding of the formal principles involved in interpreting and performing this unique repertoire, covering such aspects as sonata form, phrasing, and tempo, as well as the use of pedal and trills. In the second part of his book, he looks at the sonatas individually, from the earliest works of the 1790s through the sonatas of Beethoven's youthful popularity of the early 1800s, the subsequent years of mastery, the years of stress (1812+"1817), and the last three sonatas of the 1820s. Composed as much for private music-making as public recital, Beethoven's sonatas have long formed a bridge between the worlds of the salon and the concert hall. For today's audience, Rosen has written a guide that brings out the gravity, passion, and humor of these works and will enrich the appreciation of a wide range of readers, whether listeners, amateur musicians, or professional pianists. The book includes a CD of Rosen performing extracts from several of the sonatas, illustrating points made in the text.
Call Number: ONLINE
The Keyboard Music of J. S. Bach by David Schulenberg"Johann Sebastian Bach's keyboard works form one of the most significant repertories of Western music. Continuously performed since their creation in the eighteenth century, they are an integral part of the training of every serious musician." "Writing for performers, listeners, and scholars, David Schulenberg provides a unique and comprehensive guide to Bach's entire output of music originally played on harpsichord and other keyboard instruments. Every aspect of the music is treated in a balanced discussion that integrates recent discoveries and ongoing debates with illuminating insights into the history and interpretation of each work." "The Keyboard Music of J. S. Bach is divided into 18 chapters. Chapter 1 is a concise introduction to the entire repertory, its sources, catalogues, and editions. Chapter 2 provides an overview of Bach performance practice, including the choice of keyboard instrument and questions of articulation, rhythm, and ornamentation. Chapter 3 traces Bach's stylistic development in the keyboard works. The remaining 15 chapters supply expert commentary on more than 200 individual keyboard works, from the early suites, fugues, and toccatas, the concerto transcriptions, and the Clavier-Buchlein vor Wilhelm Friedemann Bach, to such famous later works as the Well-Tempered Clavier, the English and French Suites, the partitas, the Goldberg Variations, the Musical Offering, and the Art of Fugue. Over 100 musical examples illustrate intriguing early versions of familiar works, solutions to interpretive and analytical problems, and completions for works left in fragmentary form. The book also includes two appendixes, notes, and an extensive bibliography."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Call Number: MT145.B14 S415 1992
Haydn by Eleanor Bailie; Elizabeth Bailie (Editor)Discussing the solo piano music of Joseph Haydn, the leading composer of the Classical period, this complete survey includes a graded list of all of these works as well as detailed and constructive suggestions for study and performance. A lengthy introduction discusses the life, times, and the essential style of his piano writing. A reference book for pianists of any level, this volume is illustrated with numerous musical examples.
Call Number: ML410.H4 B35 2006
Keyboard Music Before 1700 by Alexander SiProviding comprehensive coverage of the keyboard music, this text surveys the rich diversity of the central keyboard repertory before Bach. It uses representative works to explore the styles, textures, genres, instruments and performance practices which characterize European keyboard music of the period.
Call Number: ML549 .K49 1995
Eighteenth Century Keyboard Music by Robert L. MarshallCovering music written for the harpsichord, piano, clavichord and other instruments, this volume presents the canon of 18th-century keyboard music from J.S. Bach through the early works of Beethoven. Beginning with a survey of the characteristics of Baroque and Classical keyboard music, its instruments and the primary issues of performance practice, this book presents an introduction and guide to the works of the Bach family, Scarlatti, Clementi, Haydn, Mozart and many others.
Music for Piano by F. E. KirbyThis historical survey focuses on music for piano solo but also includes important compositions for piano duet and two pianos. Scholarly yet readable, it covers the entire repertoire from the Renaissance to the late 20th century and incorporates a bibliography of 1 100 sources for further study.
Five Centuries of Keyboard Music by John GillespieA practicing musician and professor of music offers the first work in English to comprehensively survey the development of solo keyboard works. Gillespie discusses 350 composers and their works for harpsichord and piano, including Bach, Handel, Mozart, Beethoven, and Debussy. Includes 116 musical examples, illustrations, and a glossary of musical terms.
Call Number: ML700 G5
Piano Duet Repertoire, Second Edition by Cameron McGrawSince the 1981 publication of the first edition, Cameron McGraw's Piano Duet Repertoire has been a trusted guide for duet performers. This second edition, edited and substantially expanded by Christopher and Katherine Fisher, brings the volume into the 21st century, adding over 500 new or updated composer entries and nearly 1,000 new work entries to the volume, a testament to the renewed interest in piano duet playing. Entries are arranged alphabetically by composer and include both pedagogical and concert repertoire. The annotations and the grade-level indications provide piano teachers a wealth of instructional guidance. The book also contains updated appendices listing collections and duet works with voice and other instruments. This new edition features a title index and a list of composers by nationality, making it a convenient and indispensable resource.
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2016-05-09
One Handed by Donald L. PattersonThis guide to the piano literature for the one-handed pianist surveys over 2,100 individual piano pieces which include not only concert literature but pedagogical pieces as well. Following the introduction are four chapters cataloguing original works for the right hand alone, original works for the left hand alone, music arranged or transcribed for one hand alone, and concerted works for one hand in concert with other pianists, instruments, or voices. Each entry assesses the individual composition, its quality, its difficulty, its particular appeal, and its uses with the composer's name, dates, and nationality, where possible. Also included is a selected discography of commercially produced phonodiscs, compact discs, and cassettes. Instructors and pianists alike will appreciate this exhaustive guide to one-handed piano music. To aid further research, a bibliography of books, articles, and theses about the literature is provided along with a chapter that lists the contents of thirty-six anthologies devoted to one-handed piano music. This unique reference also includes an index.
Call Number: ML128.P3 P38 1999
Music for Piano and Orchestra by Maurice Hinson..". an indispensable reference work that can be read with enjoyment for its gold mine of information, much of which will be unfamiliar to even the most jaded keyboard enthusiast." -- Clavier ..". a marvel of comprehensiveness... " -- Notes ..". easily surpasses any other work of its nature. It is a work for all admirers of the piano... "A -- Piano Journal With the addition of a Supplement containing over 200 new entries, Maurice Hinson now brings together more than 3,000 works for piano and orchestra from the 1700s to the present.
Call Number: ML128.P3 H53
The Art of the Piano by David Dubal(Amadeus). This is the only complete and up-to-date book profiling every major pianist (thousands) and their essential repertoire and recordings. This third edition is completely revised (second edition: 1995 Harvest Books, ISBN# 0-15-600019-9), with hundreds more entries and updated information about existing entries. The book contains a CD for the first time featuring rare performances. "For all those interested in the piano, this book will provide great insight and knowledge. It must be read by everyone who loves the instrument." Vladimir Horowitz " The Art of the Piano is the best companion a piano aficionado could ask for." Baltimore Sun
Call Number: ML105 .D8 2004
Prokofiev's Piano Sonatas by Boris BermanBoris Berman, renowned concert pianist and teacher, is one of the world's foremost authorities on Sergei Prokofiev. In this book, he draws on his intimate knowledge of Prokofiev's work to guide music lovers and pianists through the composer's nine piano sonatas. These cherished works, composed between 1910 and 1951, are today considered an indispensable part of the repertoire of every serious concert pianist. The book, written with a deep appreciation of Prokofiev's style and creativity, looks at the sonatas within the context of Prokofiev's complete oeuvre. For each sonata, Berman provides general information about the work and a discussion of the composition's details and features, and in a section entitled "Master Class+? he offers suggestions for interpretation and specific advice for performing. Berman also corrects for the first time various misprints in published scores and includes a helpful glossary of musical terms.
Call Number: ONLINE
Images by Paul Roberts(Amadeus). Paris at the turn of the 20th century was obsessed with the interrelations of the arts. It was a time when artists and writers spoke of poetry as music, sounds as colors, and paintings as symphonies. The music of Claude Debussy, with its unique textures and dazzling colors, was the perfect counterpart to the bold new styles of painting in France. Paul Roberts probes the sources of Debussy's artistic inspiration, relating the "impressionist" titles to the artistic and literary ferment of the time. He also draws on his own performing experience to touch on all the principal technical problems for a performer of Debussy's piano music. His many suggestions about interpreting the music will be particularly valuable to performers as well as listeners.
The History of Keyboard Music To 1700 by Willi ApelExamines national styles and individual composers as well as the careers of the many evolving musical forms and instruments. This work is organized by period and by national style areas - from Poland to Portugal. It is a detailed chronological survey from the 14th century to the end of the 17th.
Call Number: ML 549. A6413
Nineteenth Century Piano Music - a Handbook for Pianists by Kathleen DaleThis vintage book is a fully comprehensive survey of the principal classical and romantic piano masterpieces of the nineteenth century. It provides a very clear picture of the structure and forms used in them and will be considerable utility to students and enthusiasts. Contents include: The Piano before Beethoven, The Sonata. (1) Beethoven, The Sonata. (2) Beethoven (cont.), The Sonata (3) Weber and Schubert, The Sonata. (4) From Clementi to Grieg, Variations, Rondo, Fugue, and Fantasy, Romantic Music, Studies, and Pieces for Beginners, Miniatures, Dance Forms, Duets, etc. Many vintage books such as this are increasingly scarce and expensive. It is with this in mind that we are republishing this volume now in an affordable, modern edition complete with a specially commissioned new introduction. First published in 1954."