Keyboard Music of Black Composers by Aaron HorneFollowing the pattern established with his pioneering works String Music of Black Composers and Woodwind Music of Black Composers, Aaron Horne now presents a comparable work for the piano and related instruments (such as accordion, harpsichord, and organ). Composers from Africa as well as the Diaspora are covered in this volume, the most comprehensive work on the topic yet published. Organized in alphabetical order by composer, each of the more than 200 entries provides information, where available, on the composer's life and career, and then details all works that include piano as well as information about commission, premiere, and composer bibliography and discography. The volume includes a keyboard music index as well as a general discography and a bibliography. This work should prove invaluable for scholars examining the impact of Black composers on music and dance, and it will be equally valuable to those devising repertoire for teaching and concert purposes.
The Heart of a Woman by Rae Linda BrownThe Heart of a Woman offers the first-ever biography of Florence B. Price, a composer whose career spanned both the Harlem and Chicago Renaissances, and the first African American woman to gain national recognition for her works. Price's twenty-five years in Chicago formed the core of a working life that saw her create three hundred works in diverse genres, including symphonies and orchestral suites, art songs, vocal and choral music, and arrangements of spirituals. Through interviews and a wealth of material from public and private archives, Rae Linda Brown illuminates Price's major works while exploring the considerable depth of her achievement. Brown also traces the life of the extremely private individual from her childhood in Little Rock through her time at the New England Conservatory, her extensive teaching, and her struggles with racism, poverty, and professional jealousies. In addition, Brown provides musicians and scholars with dozens of musical examples.
Call Number: ML410.P835 B76 2020
The Queer Composition of America's Sound by Nadine HubbsIn this vibrant and pioneering book, Nadine Hubbs shows how a gifted group of Manhattan-based gay composers were pivotal in creating a distinctive "American sound" and in the process served as architects of modern American identity. Focusing on a talented circle that included Aaron Copland, Virgil Thomson, Leonard Bernstein, Marc Blitzstein, Paul Bowles, David Diamond, and Ned Rorem, The Queer Composition of America's Sound homes in on the role of these artists' self-identification--especially with tonal music, French culture, and homosexuality--in the creation of a musical idiom that even today signifies "America" in commercials, movies, radio and television, and the concert hall.
Call Number: ONLINE
Black women composers : a century of piano music (1893-1990) by Amanda AldridgeTable of contents: Rippling spring waltz : 1893 / Estelle D. Ricketts -- Cuba libre : 1897 / Anna Gardner Goodwin -- Mother's sacrifice : 1908 / L. Viola Kinney -- Prayer before battle : from Four Moorish pictures (1927) / Amanda Aldridge (Montague Ring) -- Fantasie negre : 1929 / Florence B. Price -- Nitelife : 1930 / Mary Lou Williams -- Prelude for piano (1946, rev. 1962) / Julia Perry -- Before I'd be a slave : 1953 / Undine Smith Moore -- Spring intermezzo : from Four seasonal sketches (1955) / Betty Jackson King -- Fortune favored the bold player : from White Nile suite (1964) / Philippa Duke Schuyler -- Preludes no. 1 and 2 (ca. 1966) / Tania León -- Troubled water : 1967 / Margaret Bonds -- A summer day : ca. 1970 / Lena Johnson McLin -- Billie's song ; A taste of bass ; Blues for the Duke : from Portraits in Jazz (1976) / Valerie Capers -- Etude no. 2 from 2 piano etudes (1978-79) / Regina A. Harris Baiocchi -- A little whimsy : 1982 / Dorothy Rudd Moore -- Allegro moderato : from A summer afternoon in South Carolina (1983) / Joyce Solomon -- Prankster : 1986 / Mable Bailey -- Homage : 1990 / Zenobia Powell Perry.
The Institute promotes the music of historically underrepresented composers through its advocacy work and also by making available the Composer Diversity Database, Works Diversity Database, orchestra season analysis, bibliographies, and more.
This is an open access collection of scores from the Contemporary Score Edition series. It contains new music and scores from the Kaleidoscope 2020 Call for Scores published in collaboration with the UCLA Music Library.
Welcome to the Choral Music by Women Composers database! This searchable, sortable database lists sample repertoire for all voicings by women composers of all eras, and is intended to be an ever-evolving resource for conductors interested in programming music by women.