Naxos Music Library streaming audio database offers over a million tracks of classical, film, world, and folk music. Users can search for music by composer, artist, period, year of composition, instrument, label, duration, mood, or genre. Added features include composer biographies, musical terms glossaries, work analyses, and K-12 curriculum resources. Playlists can be created for personal or classroom use.
Smithsonian Global Sound streaming audio database has more than 40,000 individual tracks of music, spoken word, and natural and human-made sounds from Smithsonian/Folkways and other record labels. Included are readings of literary and dramatic works, historic speeches, language instruction, natural sounds, environmental and mechanical sounds, sound effects, children's music, and traditional music from virtually everywhere in the world. Playlists can be created for personal or classroom use.
Over 1,000 articles covering the music of all the world’s peoples, with over 200 audio tracks. Includes overviews of geographic regions, their musical heritages, and descriptions of genres, practices, and performances. Illustrated with photographs, drawings, maps, and musical examples.
DRAM (Database of Recorded American Music) streaming audio database is a scholarly resource that focuses on hard-to-find yet culturally and academically important recordings of American classical, modern, and avant-garde music and ensembles. DRAM contains over 4,000 albums from independent labels including New World, Composers Recordings Inc., Albany, Innova, and Cedille. Genres represented include folk music, opera, Native American, jazz, 19th century classical, early rock, musical theater, contemporary, electronic, and more. For optimal playback, use Quicktime (6.5 or higher) with Firefox, Chrome, or Internet Explorer (10 or higher).
A streaming music video database covering over 1,500 films in high definition with the best of classical music from Baroque to Contemporary music, including: concerts, operas, ballets, archival documents, portraits of artists and composers, master classes, conductors in rehearsals. Over 100 live broadcast every year from leading concert halls and classical music festivals.
Films on Demand is a multi-disciplinary database of streaming videos (electronic videos) from Films Media Group. It provides academic videos in the subject areas of psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more. Now it covers foreign films under the World Cinema Collection.