Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Online Resources (databases) provide access to academic and other articles (sometimes additional materials)
While you could do all your searches using LibrarySearch, searching individual databases is often very helpful!
Academic Search Premier
A good place to start your research, Academic Search Premier provides full text for scholarly publications and peer-reviewed journals as well as general interest sources.
JSTOR provides access to ebooks and scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and the social sciences.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Access to full-text available through UST subscription resources. Click "Get it@UST Libraries." to get free full-text.
Consumer Health Complete
Consumer Health Complete contains easily understandable health and medical information from medical encyclopedias, popular reference books and magazines.
Alt HealthWatch is a database focusing on articles from the perspectives of alternative, holistic, complementary and integrated approaches to medical treatment and general health. The database offers full-text articles from more than 180 sources; pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. 1990-.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
Health Source Consumer Edition provides full-text access to consumer health magazines, current health-related pamphlets and health reference books. Clinical Reference Systems reports and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide with generic and brand name drug patient education sheets are also accessible here.
Indexes articles on all aspects of medicine, published all over the world. Use for human biology, anatomy, and physiology, psychiatry, pharmacology, and health care management, administration, and policy. The MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) search is extremely helpful in finding terms. After you find an especially appropriate article, click on Related Records to find other articles of interest.
This is the world's most comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals--with no embargo. It covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials Plus
Our primary theology and religion index, with 50 plus titles in full-text out of over 400 total indexed, primarily academic journal articles, books, reviews, and essays in collection; international scope. Scriptures search: find articles about passages by citation; browse by Book title, carefully look for applicable verse ranges.
Gale Literature Resource Center
A one-stop-shop resource providing access to biographies, critical analyses and reviews of authors from every age and literary discipline. It covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors.
LGBT Life with Full Text indexes the world’s literature regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues, both academic and grassroots. It includes full text for LGBT journals, magazines and regional newsletters as well as some monographs and books. It’s invaluable as both an academic resource and for casual reading and great for learning about the history of the LGBT community.
Start here when you need to find research in psychology. Which areas of psychology? Just about all of them. PsycINFO covers mental health, counseling, cognitive science, neuroscience, education, learning, family studies and language. Provides full-text access (back to the first issue) of the journals published by the American Psychological Association, as well as other association journals and many books and book chapters.
Science Reference Center
Science Reference Center provides easy access to full-text science content including encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, web sites, pictures, illustrations, audio clips and video clips. Includes ability to limit by lexile reading levels.
SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text identifies resources in the field of sociology and related subject areas. It indexes over 3000 journals and provides full text for 890 journals, several dating back to 1908. It also includes full text for over 850 books and monographs, as well as over 16,800 conference reports. It also includes a thesaurus of sociological terms.