Topic: Indigenous Resources: Web Resources

The United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples (UNDRIP) was adopted by the General Assembly on Thursday, 13 September 2007. The Declaration is the most comprehensive international instrument on the rights of indigenous peoples. It establishes a universal framework of minimum standards for the survival, dignity and well-being of the indigenous peoples of the world and it elaborates on existing human rights standards and fundamental freedoms as they apply to the specific situation of indigenous peoples.

The Census Bureau collects data for the American Indian and Alaska Native (AIAN) population and publishes specific counts, estimates, and statistics. My Tribal Area gives you quick and easy access to selected statistics from the American Community Survey (ACS). The ACS provides detailed demographic, social, economic, and housing statistics every year for the nation's communities.

Located on Tohono O'odham Nation traditional homelands at the University of Arizona. NNI provides Native nations and other policy makers with accessible research and policy analysis of governance and development in Indian Country

Native-Land.ca is run by the nonprofit organization Native Land Digital. It attempts to outline the boundaries of Indigenous ancestral territories in North America. It is looking at expanding the map to other parts of the world.

Created by the Minnesota Historical Society, this interactive map allows users to explore each treaty and see how changing boundaries reflect the influx of settlers and displacement of the Dakota, Ojibwe, and Ho-Chunk in Minnesota..

The Ojibwe People's Dictionary is a searchable, talking Ojibwe-English dictionary that features the voices of Ojibwe speakers. It is also a gateway into the Ojibwe collections at the Minnesota Historical Society. Along with detailed Ojibwe language entries and voices, you will find beautiful cultural items, photographs, and excerpts from relevant historical documents. Whenever possible, we provide examples of documents in the Ojibwe language.

An online guide to talking and writing about Native nations. From the Native Governance Center.

The mission of the Indian Affairs Council (MIAC) is to protect the sovereignty of the 11 Minnesota Tribes and to ensure the well-being of American Indian citizens throughout the state of Minnesota.

Based in St. Paul, MN, the Native Governance Center serves Native nations in Mni Sota Makoce, North Dakota, and South Dakota.

This non-profit out of St. Paul seeks to connect native-owned businesses, entrepreneurs, artisans to resources and providers that offer equitable access, are innovative and understand native business and communities.

The first American Indian Studies department. They have a deep list of resources under their About section.

NACDI was founded in 2007 to address the growing challenges and opportunities facing the urban Indigenous community.

A virtual exhibit exploring the Dakota and Ojibwe treaties with the U.S. government and how those treaties affected the lands and lifeways of the Indigenous peoples of the place now called Minnesota and why they still matter today.

It has been over 150 years since the U.S.-Dakota War of 1862, a disastrous time in Minnesota history. The war had a profound impact in shaping Minnesota as we know it today. This site is a resource for learning about the war, its causes, and its far-reaching consequences. Created by the Minnesota Historical Society.

Ojibwe Material Culture is an overview of cultural objects — totaling over 2,000 items — that can be found in the Minnesota Historical Society’s collection.

An overview of Dakota, Lakota, and Nakota cultural objects — totaling approximately 1,000 items — that can be found in the Minnesota Historical Society’s artifact collection.

The 1493 Papal Bull issued by Pope Alexander VI used to justify Christian European explorers’ claims on land and waterways they allegedly discovered, and promote Christian domination and superiority, and has been applied in Africa, Asia, Australia, New Zealand, and the Americas.