Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use the databases below to search for criticism, biographies, and more.
Article Databases: Literature
Resources with Literature-specific content
Gale Literature Resource Center
A one-stop-shop resource providing access to biographies, critical analyses and reviews of authors from every age and literary discipline. It covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors.
MLA International Bibliography
Now available from EBSCO, MLA International Bibliography covers scholarship in a broad range of Humanities disciplines related to global literatures and languages. Coverage includes materials published in more than 100 countries and in more than 50 languages, in the areas of literatures and languages from around the world.
Literature Online (LION)
Literature Online is a single-point, online resource for the study and teaching of literature in English. It is a fully integrated service that combines the texts of over 357,000 works of literature with huge resources of criticism and reference. It lets users search across the two leading literary indexes - MLA and the Annual Bibliography of Language and Literature (ABELL) - and link directly to literary criticism and reference from an extensive collection of full-text literature journals.
Provides access to hundreds of online reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations from a variety of publishers. Covers both general reference and subject-specific reference titles for a variety of disciplines. Topic Pages give great background overviews on subjects.
Full-text encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Article Databases: Broad-Spectrum (including lit content)
Academic Search Premier
A good place to start your research, Academic Search Premier provides full text for scholarly publications and peer-reviewed journals as well as general interest sources.
JSTOR provides access to ebooks and scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and the social sciences.
Project MUSE provides online access to a large selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals and ebooks.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Access to full-text available through UST subscription resources. Click "Get it@UST Libraries." to get free full-text.
Gale in Context: Biography
Biography in Context includes over 700,000 biographical entries covering more than 400,000 notable international figures from all time periods and areas of study.