GENG514-01: Documentary Poetics, Dr. Leslie Miller: Digital Collections

The National Museum of African American History and Culture is the only national museum devoted exclusively to the documentation of African American life, history, and culture.

Research Guides related to Slavery

This digital memorial raises questions about the largest slave trades in history and offers access to the documentation available to answer them.

Led by Emory, a massive digital memorial shines new light on one of the most harrowing chapters of human history.

Amistad Research Center is committed to collecting, preserving, and providing open access to original materials that reference the social and cultural importance of America's ethnic and racial history, the African Diaspora, human relations, and civil rights.

A digital collection created by the Amistad Research Center (Tulane U Digital Library).

Info from the National Archives

States of Incarceration is a collaboration of over 800 students and others deeply affected by incarceration in 18 states and counting.

The Louisiana State Penitentiary Museum Foundation is a museum that informs and educates the public and provides a unique experience about the history of corrections in Louisiana.

The photographic collection is rich in its depiction of early twentieth century prison life and conditions. The collection covers numerous subjects such as prison living conditions, recreational activities, industries, hospital care, corporal punishment, work gangs on the farm and quarries, vocational activities, weapons confiscated, prison architecture, and the death house. A few of the images are of prison officials, primarily in the federal penitentiary system.

The Prison Public Memory Project has engaged people from all walks of life in conversation, reflection and learning about the complex role of prisons in communities and society.

A collection contains images of photographs and text documenting the creation of the Grand Coulee Dam, built during the first half of the twentieth century. Included are images of the Works Progress Administration work camps, land clearing activities, the moving of towns, and the dam construction itself. Also presented are documents outlining arguments both for and against this enormous undertaking.

This site provides an extensive digital collection of original photographs and documents about the Northwest Coast and Plateau Indian cultures, complemented by essays written by anthropologists, historians, and teachers about both particular tribes and cross-cultural topics.

The material presented in the Salem Witch Trials Documentary Archive is provided freely for non-commercial educational purposes.

Cornell’s Witchcraft Collection contains over 3,000 titles documenting the history of the Inquisition and the persecution of witchcraft, primarily in Europe.

A comprehensive webpage from the National Archives (England) that includes various documents relating to the witch craze in 17th century England.

E. J. Bellocq, reproduced from
prints made by Lee Friedlander,
preface by Lee Friedlander,
edited by John Szarkowski, 1970

The Historic New Orleans Collection (THNOC) is a museum, research center, and publisher dedicated to preserving the history and culture of New Orleans and the Gulf South.

The A Closer Walk (ACW) project and site is presented by WWOZ New Orleans and produced by five partners: Bent Media, e/Prime Media, the Ponderosa Stomp Foundation, Randy Fertel, and WWOZ.

History of Storyville

From the Center for Disease Control (CDC)

From the National Archives

Digital Public Library Exhibition

Contains historical documents on the American influenza pandemic of 1918-1919, including newspaper articles, contemporary medical journal articles on influenza and pneumonia, the British Report on the Pandemic of Influenza, 1918-1919, E. O. Jordan’s monograph Epidemic Influenza, two large military reports on the outbreaks of influenza in the Navy and the Army, and a large assortment of other important documents.

HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and digitally accessible. It is a major source of digitized books and other documents, some of which are available/free for all.

30 photos from the Atlantic

A selection of material from European libraries and archives about the 1918 influenza.