The ad library provides advertising transparency by offering a comprehensive, searchable collection of all ads currently running from across Facebook apps and services, including Instagram.
With this database you have access to 1,500 magazines, newspapers and popular journal titles published in the United States dating 1741 through the 1930s.
Try a general search for 'advertisements' and narrow your results from there. Or select the Washington University: Walt Reed Illustration Archive from the 'Artstor collections' menu and browse ads from the late 19th to mid 20th century.
The National Geographic Virtual Library Magazine Archive brings together every page of the National Geographic magazine—including advertisements—along with a cross-searchable collection of articles and images. The Virtual Library Magazine includes: National Geographic Magazine Archive, 1888-2020 and National Geographic Archive, 2021-Current.
Full coverage of the New York Times from 1851-2006. To search for ads, in the Advanced Search, change one of the drop-down menus to Document Type, and enter the keyword 'ad.' Enter search terms in another box and hit the Search button. (NOTE: You can also enter "display ad" which will eliminate the classified ads.)
With this database you have access to several popular women’s magazines published in the United States and Canada dating from the from the late 1800s through the 20th century.
The Ad*Access Project presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. [Duke University Library Digital Collection]
The Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850 - 1920 (EAA) presents over 9,000 images, with database information, relating to the early history of advertising in the United States. [Duke University Library Digital Collection]
AdViews is a digital archive of thousands of vintage television commercials created or collected by the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency, dated 1950s - 1980s. [Duke University Library Digital Collection]
The Ad Council, producer of public service ads (PSAs) for TV, radio, newspapers, magazines, billboards, and the Web, makes a variety of these ads available for preview or download on this site. Free registration required.
