Research and Course Guides: MGMT 200 L06: Working Skillfully in Organizations: Library Resources

This is a Google free zone!

It's easy to assume that company information you find on the web with Google is valid because there is so much out there, and much of it looks professional. However, that is simply not the case. Results from Google are not judged on authorship, accuracy, or bias; factors that are crucial when evaluating a company.

UST business databases contain articles, reports, and financial statements, from trusted, objective sources with author and publisher dates front and center. These are the same tools people in the field use to make decisions because smart decisions are based on reliable information.

Library Resources for Company and Industry Information

Publicly Traded Companies

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier provides the full text of more than two thousand business publications, including more than 1,000 peer-reviewed journals. It also contains company, industry, SWOTs, and market research reports.
D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new window
D&B Hoovers provides company information from about 18 million global companies, detailed industry reports, analyst reports, SEC filings, and market research. Limited to 50 simultaneous users. Tip: try clearing your browser cache, cookies, and history if you encounter errors.
IBISWorld Industry Market Research This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld Industry Market Research Reports provide in-depth industry analysis for 700+ U.S. industries and large companies. Searchable by keyword or company name. Reports average 25-30 pages and contain market characteristics, industry conditions, industry performance, key competitors, and industry outlook.

Privately Held Companies

PrivCo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PrivCo database is UST Library’s premier source for finding information on privately-held companies. Company profiles include an overview of the firm, its leadership team/owners, and company financials. The profiles also contain, when available, detailed information on VC and private equity funding, private M&A deals, patent and copyright litigation, and IPO activities. Register for a free personal account or use the Direct Access button.

Library Resources for Business News

These resources are your best bet for the most current news on your chosen topic or company

Economist This link opens in a new window
The Economist is an important and respected English-language newsweekly magazine. This link gives access to a university-wide website subscription that should give you access to the content without paywalls. Includes current and prior coverage back to 1997.
ProQuest US Newsstream, including Star Tribune This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
US Newsstream enables users to search current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. It features top newspapers, along with national and regional news sources including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Star Tribune, Los Angeles Times, and Chicago Tribune.

Your Librarian

Andrea Koeppe

she / her / hers

Email Me

Contact:

Charles J. Keffer Library | MOH 223

651-962-4647

Subjects: Business, Entrepreneurship, Ethics & Business Law, Management, Political Science