Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Films & Media
Does music help you relax? Take a look at our streaming music as well as video databases that have recorded performances of classical music.
Search LibrarySearch for music and audio titles
Music resources from the library
Naxos Music Library
Naxos Music Library streaming audio database offers over a million tracks of classical, film, world, and folk music. Users can search for music by composer, artist, period, year of composition, instrument, label, duration, mood, or genre. Added features include composer biographies, musical terms glossaries, work analyses, and K-12 curriculum resources. Playlists can be created for personal or classroom use.
Naxos Music Library Jazz
Naxos Music Library Jazz streaming audio database offers tens of thousands of tracks of classic and contemporary jazz, blues, and R&B performed by international jazz artists. Users can select music by composer, artist, ensemble, instrument, label, or genre. Playlists can be created for personal or classroom use. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound
Smithsonian Global Sound streaming audio database has more than 40,000 individual tracks of music, spoken word, and natural and human-made sounds from Smithsonian/Folkways and other record labels. Included are readings of literary and dramatic works, historic speeches, language instruction, natural sounds, environmental and mechanical sounds, sound effects, children's music, and traditional music from virtually everywhere in the world. Playlists can be created for personal or classroom use.
DRAM (Database of Recorded American Music) streaming audio database is a scholarly resource that focuses on hard-to-find yet culturally and academically important recordings of American classical, modern, and avant-garde music and ensembles. DRAM contains over 4,000 albums from independent labels including New World, Composers Recordings Inc., Albany, Innova, and Cedille. Genres represented include folk music, opera, Native American, jazz, 19th century classical, early rock, musical theater, contemporary, electronic, and more. For optimal playback, use Quicktime (6.5 or higher) with Firefox, Chrome, or Internet Explorer (10 or higher).
A streaming music video database covering over 1,500 films in high definition with the best of classical music from Baroque to Contemporary music, including: concerts, operas, ballets, archival documents, portraits of artists and composers, master classes, conductors in rehearsals. Over 100 live broadcast every year from leading concert halls and classical music festivals.
Music Online: Classical Performance in Video
Streaming video database that contains 290 performances of operas from the Baroque to the twentieth century and documentaries on specific operas, composers, performers, and companies.
More help on using our streaming music collections
UST Music Streaming Media Resources