Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use specialized topical sources to browse for topics and help build your bibliography.
Finding Books / Journal Articles / Book Reviews
CLICsearch provides simple, one-stop searching for books, articles, videos, recordings, and more. Your search includes the physical items from CLIC libraries, and subscribed electronic resources including ebooks, journals, and databases from St. Thomas libraries.
WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch)
WorldCat, the OCLC Online Union Catalog, contains millions of records describing items owned by libraries around the world.
America: History & Life (EBSCO)
America History and Life is comprehensive index of journals articles, book reviews, and dissertations related to the history and culture of the United States and Canada from 1450 - present. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
JSTOR provides access to ebooks and scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and the social sciences.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Access to full-text available through UST subscription resources. Click "Get it@UST Libraries." to get free full-text.
Scopus calls itself the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: over 21, 500 scientific journals, 130,000 books and conference proceedings, covering all fields of academic study: science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Scopus also includes 8 different citation metrics, analyzing impact at the author, article, journal, and institution levels.
Dissertations and Theses
This database provides citations for over 2.7 million dissertations and theses from colleges and universities around the world. Close to half are available in PDF form that researchers can download. All St. Thomas dissertations that have been submitted to the database are available in PDF also. If you should come across a document that does not have a PDF, you may purchase a copy or request it through interlibrary loan (ILLiad).