Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Minnesota History: Resources
Below is a variety of resource links to historical information on Minnesota.
Credible Websites/Archival Collections
MN Historical Newspaper Resources (Primary Sources)
Minneapolis Star Tribune (Historical) 1867-2001
This database provides you access to the complete content of the Minneapolis Tribune, the Minneapolis Star and the Minneapolis Star Tribune (1867 – 2001) including all articles, editorials, advertisements and photographs.
St. Paul Pioneer Press
This database from Newsbank contains the full-text archives of the Pioneer Press from 1988 to the present. It is easily searchable by keywords and is a great source for regional news, and local company information. It does not include the current week's articles.
MN Digital Newspapers Hub
A digital collection of historical newspapers from across Minnesota (MNHS)
Chronicling America - Minnesota Newspapers
Digital versions of the Minneapolis Journal (1901 - 1906), the St. Paul Daily Globe (1878 - 1905), and the Western Appeal/ The Appeal (1885 - 1922) are among the newspaper titles available on this site.
Primary Sources in Books
Search CLICsearch to find primary sources in books and ebooks. When searching the catalog, you will want to use specific subject headings in your searches to single out the primary source materials. These subject headings are specialized "tag" added to the records to books by catalog librarians to provide accurate descriptions of books.