Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Text & Context: Research Resources
Use the resources below to find secondary and primary sources on your topics.
Academic Search Premier
A good place to start your research, Academic Search Premier provides full text for scholarly publications and peer-reviewed journals as well as general interest sources.
JSTOR provides access to ebooks and scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and the social sciences.
Project MUSE provides online access to a large selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals and ebooks.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Access to full-text available through UST subscription resources. Click "Get it@UST Libraries." to get free full-text.
Oxford African American Studies Center
The African American Studies Center contains brief articles on all aspects of the African-American experience along with images, primary sources, time lines, maps, tables, and reference resources.
America: History & Life (EBSCO)
America History and Life is comprehensive index of journals articles, book reviews, and dissertations related to the history and culture of the United States and Canada from 1450 - present. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
Criminal Justice Abstracts Full-text
Criminal Justice Abstracts provides comprehensive coverage of international journals, books, reports, dissertations and unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines. This version provides full-text for approximately 200 criminal justice journals.
SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text identifies resources in the field of sociology and related subject areas. It indexes over 3000 journals and provides full text for 890 journals, several dating back to 1908. It also includes full text for over 850 books and monographs, as well as over 16,800 conference reports. It also includes a thesaurus of sociological terms.
HeinOnline Law Journal Library
HeinOnline is a collection of resources ranging from law review articles to a wide range of foreign and domestic legal documents. Highlights include the Law Journals Library (American law review articles from the inception of the journal), Federal Register Library (vol. 1, 1936 - current), U.S. Supreme Court Library, full-text Restatements, treaty collections, and legislative history documents.
Art Full Text
This database offers full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications - now with expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism. Includes Art Index Retrospective. Limited to 20 simultaneous users.
What is a Primary Source
What is a Primary Resource?
Primary sources provide first-hand testimony or direct evidence created by participants and/or observers of a historical event or time period enabling researchers to get as close to the truth of what actually happened. Often, these materials are created at the time when the events or conditions occured. However, primary sources can also include autobiographies, memoirs and oral histories that are written or recorded later.
Primary sources are characterized by their content not their format. Therefore, primary sources can be found in published books, on microfilm/microfiche, in digital form or in their original format.
The following types of materials are generally considered primary resources:
- Diaries or journals
- Letters or other manuscripts
- Speeches and interviews
- Sound recordings
- Video or motion picture recordings
- Memoirs and autobiographies.
- Published materials from the time (books, magazine and/or newspaper articles)
- Government documents
- Objects and artifacts
Newspapers & More (primary sources)
Historical Newspapers and more
Proquest Historical Newspapers
Combined search of historical newspapers including: New York Times, Washington Post, Irish Times, The Guardian and Observer, Chicago Defender and Pittsburgh Courier.
American Periodicals Series
With this database you have access to 1,500 magazines, newspapers and popular journal titles published in the United States dating 1741 through the 1930s.
Sabin Americana: History of the Americas, 1500–1926
Sabin Americana, 1500–1926 is digital archive of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about North, Central and South America, and the Caribbean the from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s.
ProQuest US Newsstream, including Star Tribune
US Newsstream enables users to search current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. It features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, along with national and regional news sources including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Star Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, and Chicago Tribune.
Comprehensive collection of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press. All articles are full-text. Updated quarterly. 1990- .
Gale Literature Resource Center
A one-stop-shop resource providing access to biographies, critical analyses and reviews of authors from every age and literary discipline. It covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors.
MLA International Bibliography
Now available from EBSCO, MLA International Bibliography covers scholarship in a broad range of Humanities disciplines related to global literatures and languages. Coverage includes materials published in more than 100 countries and in more than 50 languages, in the areas of literatures and languages from around the world.