Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Introduction to CLICsearch
Learn to use CLICsearch, St. Thomas Libraries' single search discovery that allows you to find thousands of resources using a single search box.
Locating books in the library
After locating a book in CLICnet, make sure you have the following information:
•Call Number (this is the "address" of the book)
•Status (whether the book is Available or checked out)
Call numbers are book shelf-addresses, unique to a single book. They indicate where a book is located in the library. Books are arranged alphabetically by the beginning letters of their call numbers. You will find the call number attached to or written on the spine of the book.
Once you find the book in the stacks, browse the shelf/shelves around it -- you might find additional books that will be helpful to you.
CLICsearch book search
Results here are limited to books, ebooks, and book chapters.
CLICsearch: DVD and Streaming Videos
Check out these great movie databases. Enjoy!
Swank Digital Campus allows the UST community to stream major motion pictures. You can watch any film from the interface or you can link the movie and add it to Canvas and assign it to students as course reserves.
Swank works best with Chrome or Firefox version 47 and up.
NOTE: This Collection is limited to classroom and personal use. This collection cannot be used for campus screenings (not for public events).
Films on Demand: Feature Films for Education
The Feature Films for Education Collection offers hundreds of full-length feature films for educational instructional purposes. The Collection focuses on both current and hard-to-find titles, including dramas, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, science fiction, environmental titles, foreign films, social issues, animation studies, Academy Award® winners, and more.
NOTE: This collection is limited to classroom use and personal use. This collection cannot be used for campus screening (not for public events).
Films on Demand
Films on Demand is a multi-disciplinary database of streaming videos (electronic videos) from Films Media Group. It provides academic videos in the subject areas of psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more. Now it covers foreign films under the World Cinema Collection.
Media Education Foundation Films
A database that contains documentaries and educational films on social, political, cultural issues, education, and American history.
Academic Video Online
Academic Video Online (formerly VAST) is a collection of streaming videos covering the areas of art, architecture, business, counseling and therapy, dance, economics, education, ethnic studies, ethnography, gay and lesbian studies, health, history, humanities, law and public safety, literature, opera, philosophy, political science, psychology, religion, science, theater, and women's studies.
Docuseek2 is an electronic video database covering the films by the distributors Bullfrog Films and Icarus Films. It contains documentaries in the areas of: Environmental Studies, Political Science, Peace & Justice, Criminal Justice, Latin American, History, Art, Media Studies, and more.
FILM PLATFORM serves as a bridge between academia and documentary film, bringing students and professors the most relevant and highly regarded films from the festival circuit. The collection is curated by film experts and leading academics to showcase critically-acclaimed documentaries of social, political and cultural importance, and the catalogue is continually growing.