Research and Course Guides: Journalism Resources: News/Articles

Scholarly Research Journals

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A good place to start your research, Academic Search Ultimate provides full text for scholarly publications and peer-reviewed journals as well as general interest sources.
Expanded content and coverage replacing Academic Search Premier.
Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Communication Source is an essential research tool in areas related to communications and mass media. It is also useful for literacy or ESL research in the field of education.
Expanded content and coverage replacing Communication & Mass Media Complete.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) provides full-text research on a wide range of education topics. Includes peer-reviewed journals, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, and much more.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search across multiple disciplines and source types from one convenient place. Connect to Google Scholar through the library’s page to get free full text of articles brought to you by UST.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Start here when you need to find research in psychology. Which areas of psychology? Just about all of them. PsycINFO covers mental health, counseling, cognitive science, neuroscience, education, learning, family studies and language. Provides full-text access (back to the first issue) of the journals published by the American Psychological Association, as well as other association journals and many books and book chapters.

Major Newspapers

Economist This link opens in a new window
The Economist is an important and respected English-language newsweekly magazine. This link gives access to a university-wide website subscription that should give you access to the content without paywalls. Includes current and prior coverage back to 1997; see the separate Economist Historical Archive for coverage back to 1843.
New York Times (Digital) This link opens in a new window
Direct access to nytimes.com paid for by St. Thomas. First-time users need to create a free account using their St. Thomas email address. Existing paid New York Times subscribers must cancel their subscription before authenticating via the school funded program. Includes access to nytimesineducation.com (separate registration required), timesmachine.nytimes.com, The Athletic (separate registration required), use of the app, and more. Does not include Cooking, Wirecutter, or Games. Available only to current UST students, faculty, and staff.
Once registered, students will have access until 12/31 of the graduation year they choose and faculty/staff will have 4 years of full account access, after which they must re-authenticate by visiting accessnyt.com.
Wall Street Journal (Digital) This link opens in a new window
Direct access to wsj.com paid for by St. Thomas. First-time users need to create a free account using their St. Thomas email address. Includes news, commentary, podcasts, WSJ+, use of the app, and more. Available only to current UST students, faculty, and staff.
Students will be prompted to enter their graduation date upon activation. If you have a change in your graduation date and need to extend access, please contact a librarian.

Faculty and staff will receive an email to renew their academic pass every 364 days.
Washington Post (Digital) This link opens in a new window
Direct access to washingtonpost.com paid for by St. Thomas. Click more to set up a free personal subscription you can use online and via the app.
Current UST students, faculty, and staff can follow these steps to activate your free subscription.

1. Enter your St. Thomas email in the Sign up box and follow the prompts to set up a new account
2. Click on your name in the upper right-hand corner
3. Click My Post
4. Click Manage Account on the right hand side
5. Click Send verification email. If you don't receive an email, be sure to check your spam folder
6. Once you've verified your email, click Subscription & Billing tab
7. Click Activate free digital access

News Aggregators

ProQuest US Newsstream, including Star Tribune This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
US Newsstream enables users to search current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. It features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, along with national and regional news sources including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Star Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, and Chicago Tribune.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
This database contains electronic editions of thousands of local, national and international newspapers, along with broadcast transcripts and college and university news. It also includes the St. Paul Pioneer Press and the Star Tribune.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press. All articles are full-text. Updated quarterly. 1990- .
Proquest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Combined search of historical newspapers including: New York Times, Washington Post, Irish Times, The Guardian and Observer, Chicago Defender and Pittsburgh Courier.

Search Journal Titles

Find journals and newspapers subscribed to by St. Thomas. Enter all or the beginning of the title (e.g., New York Times or Harvard).

Scholarly Research Journals

Scholarly journals provide scholarly research on topics related to specific professions. They are generally published through a peer-reviewed or juried process, which means that one or more scholars in the field have read and approved the article for publication.

News Sources

Articles and news sources can be excellent sources of current information on communication campaigns, companies, industries, brands, and products. Or, you may be researching broad advertising trends, specific companies' marketing practices, or strategies and campaigns associated with a specific product.