Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected resources for searching issues related to Women, Gender and Sexuality topics.
Databases of Interest
LGBT Life with Full Text indexes the world’s literature regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues, both academic and grassroots. It includes full text for LGBT journals, magazines and regional newsletters as well as some monographs and books. It’s invaluable as both an academic resource and for casual reading and great for learning about the history of the LGBT community.
Project MUSE provides online access to a large selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals and ebooks.
SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text identifies resources in the field of sociology and related subject areas. It indexes over 3000 journals and provides full text for 890 journals, several dating back to 1908. It also includes full text for over 850 books and monographs, as well as over 16,800 conference reports. It also includes a thesaurus of sociological terms.
Academic Search Premier
A good place to start your research, Academic Search Premier provides full text for scholarly publications and peer-reviewed journals as well as general interest sources.
LibrarySearch provides a simple, one-stop search for books, articles, videos, recordings, and more. Items from St. Thomas and other regional libraries can be requested online and delivered to the St. Thomas library of your choice.
Movie Databases (Popular films)
Swank Digital Campus allows the UST community to stream major motion pictures. You can watch any film from the interface or you can link the movie and add it to Canvas and assign it to students as course reserves.
Swank works best with Chrome or Firefox version 47 and up.
NOTE: This Collection is limited to classroom and personal use. This collection cannot be used for campus screenings (not for public events).
Hoopla provides streaming video (movies and TV shows). Popular titles and classics, fiction and nonfiction are available. For information about devices and more visit Hoopla help
You must use your UST email and password to authenticate into Hoopla (if your password is longer than 20 characters, you will need to change your UST password to fewer than 20 characters). You MUST use your UST email to create a separate Hoopla account. You can check out up to 7 titles per month.
This collection is limited to classroom use and personal use. This collection cannot be used for campus screenings (not for public events).
Streaming Media Resources
Films on Demand
Films on Demand is a multi-disciplinary database of streaming videos (electronic videos) from Films Media Group. It provides academic videos in the subject areas of psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more. Now it covers foreign films under the World Cinema Collection.
Media Education Foundation Films
A database that contains documentaries and educational films on social, political, cultural issues, education, and American history.
Academic Video Online
Academic Video Online (formerly VAST) is a collection of streaming videos covering the areas of art, architecture, business, counseling and therapy, dance, economics, education, ethnic studies, ethnography, gay and lesbian studies, health, history, humanities, law and public safety, literature, opera, philosophy, political science, psychology, religion, science, theater, and women's studies.
Docuseek2 is an electronic video database covering the films by the distributors Bullfrog Films and Icarus Films. It contains documentaries in the areas of: Environmental Studies, Political Science, Peace & Justice, Criminal Justice, Latin American, History, Art, Media Studies, and more.
LibrarySearch: DVD and Streaming Videos