Skip to main content

Library Resources and Services During the COVID-19 Outbreak: Materials and Collections Online

A guide to all of the many services and resources the library provides that are available online. Created March 13, 2020 in response to the COVID-19 pandemic

online collections: ebooks articles media more

Library Help

St. Thomas Librarians are here to help's picture
St. Thomas Librarians are here to help
Contact:
We're available to help in-person, via chat, by text, or by email. Find out more at
Ask a Librarian
Website

Library materials online

Our buildings are closed, but we have many resources available online!


Ebooks, Journals, Streaming Audio and Video and more...

The Library subscribes to hundreds of databases that include 400,000 online books, 58,000 online journals, and more than 77,000 streaming audio and video titles.  As a member of the St. Thomas community, you have access to these from home.


Request an ebook for purchase
Please let us know if you would like us to look into purchasing e-books or e-resources by suggesting a purchase.

CLICsearch

The quickest way to search through most of our collection is with CLICsearch, our one-stop discovery tool that searches for books (including e-books), articles, videos, and more.   After searching for a title or topic, you can refine the results to show only online sources by checking "Available Online" on the left under Show Only, then click "Apply Filter."  

Using Ebooks

We have a large collection of Ebooks that you can find through CLICsearch (above).  Most of those books can be read in your browser without requiring you to install any software or sign up for any accounts.  See our guide below for more information on the different ways to read and download (when available) our Ebooks.

Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers

To find a specific journal or magazine title, use our Journal Search in CLICsearch.  After searching for the title, you will be shown a list of the different ways to access that title, most of which will be online.

Streaming Video and Audio collections

The Music & Media Collections house more than 70 thousand titles in streaming audio and video

Starting points

Streaming Video Collections

Streaming Audio Collections

Online Databases

We have nearly 300 databases that offer access to online resources. This list can be overwhelming if you're not sure where to start.  In that case, we suggest looking at our Subject and Course research guides that recommend specific databases (and other resources) for a subject or course.

If you know the database you are looking for, use our alphabetical list of our subscription databases. This list includes descriptions of the databases and lets you narrow down to databases by subject or type of database using the drop-down list along the top of the list.

InterLibrary Loan

If the library does not have an item that you need, you can request it via InterLibrary Loan and we will work with partner libraries to find a copy for you.  For journal articles and chapters of books, this usually means receiving an electronic (pdf) version of that item and during normal times, those requests are typically filled in 2-4 business days.

InterLibrary Loan requests can still be made and we will continue to process those requests, however, because of other library closings, we cannot predict how long it may take to fill a request.  It is likely that some requests will be filled more slowly than normal.

Research Guides

It can be hard to know where to start looking for our resources.  Our librarians have put together research guides for subjects and courses.  These include recommended databases, journals, and strategies for the best ways to get started with your research.