Research and Course Guides: BIOL 474: Biology of Global Health : Finding Research

Core Databases

BioOne This link opens in a new window
BioOne provides full-text access to both current and archival "bioscience research journals, featuring timely content on a wide-array of today’s most pressing topics, including global warming, stem cell research, ecological and biodiversity conservation."
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
The primary database for nursing and allied health research with access to journal articles, book chapters, evidence-based care sheets, nursing dissertations, state newsletters, and continuing education modules.
How to use CINAHL
PubMed This link opens in a new window
The National Library of Medicine's openly searchable and highly comprehensive database of biomedical literature, providing citations from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Elsevier published journals and books online platform
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: over 21,500 scientific journals, 130,000 books and conference proceedings, covering all fields of academic study: science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Scopus also includes 8 different citation metrics, analyzing impact at the author, article, journal, and institution levels.
Scopus user guide

Primary Sources

Primary sources are ones written by the scientists who performed the experiments, during the time of the study - these articles include original research data.

Secondary sources are ones that summarize or compare lots of research in a particular area.

So how can you tell if a science article is a primary source? Primary research articles will include sections about:

methodology - explaining how the experiment was conducted
results - detailing what happened and providing raw data sets (often as tables or graphs)
conclusions - connecting the results with theories and other research
references - to previous research or theories that influenced the research

Research Strategies

Interlibrary Loan

This Photo by Unknown Author is licensed under CC BY

Request books, articles, and other items not available at UST. Visit the InterLibrary Loan page for more info.

Evaluate Your Sources

Ulrichsweb This link opens in a new window
Ulrichsweb is a bibliographic database providing detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world. It covers all subjects, and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly and are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription.

BIOL 474: Biology of Global Health : Finding Research

Research is M E S S Y

Core Databases

Primary Sources

Research Strategies

Interlibrary Loan

Evaluate Your Sources