Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Marianne Hageman (St. Paul)
John Heintz (Mpls. & St. Paul)
Andrea Koeppe (Mpls.)
During the COVID-19 Outbreak we will be working from home, but we are still available for research questions and consultations. You can email us to get in touch!
Why use encyclopedias?
General Business and Management encyclopedias provide you with concise and pertinent summary information, and serving as an overview of the topic. They also serve as very good starting points for research as each entry usually includes a bibliography that will guide the reader to works with more detailed information.
International Encyclopedia Of Communication
This online encyclopedia covers many facets of communication studies including coverage of cutting edge theories, technology, interpersonal communication, intercultural and intergroup communication, business and organizational communication.
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management (2nd Ed.)
A comprehensive 12 vol. business encyclopedia covering all major sub-fields of business. Articles arranged alphabetically within subject volumes; they contain good background information on the listed topic plus a bibliography for further reading. Part of Blackwell Reference Online. (See the Wiley Encyclopedia of Management below for the more up-to-date 3rd Edition).
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management: International Management
Contains more than 350 entries featuring developments in globalization, the internet, e-commerce, international standards, and meta-markets. Volume VI of the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management: Organizational Behavior
Contains explanations of over 250 terms and concepts in organizational behavior, reflecting developments in knowledge management, globalization, ethics, technology, and governance. Volume XI of the Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management.
SAGE Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Presents current and complete information as well as ready-to-use techniques, facts, and examples from the field of qualitative research in a very accessible style. In taking an interdisciplinary approach, these two volumes target a broad audience and fill a gap in the existing reference literature for a general guide to the core concepts that inform qualitative research practices. The entries cover every major facet of qualitative methods, including access to research participants, data coding,