It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide provides a number of useful resources. Use the tabs above to explore these resources.
Finding Books--search for print or electronic books, located in a library or online
Finding Articles--good places to start when searching for journal articles
Websites--links to websites that may provide supplementary material
Note: Many of the resources listed here are limited to use by members of The
University of St. Thomas community (faculty, staff and students). If
you are using the Guide off-campus, it will ask for a brief login to
identify yourself as a member of The University of St. Thomas community
before you can use these resources.
Catholic Church Documents Related to Biblical Studies
Oxford Biblical Studies Online provides a comprehensive resource for the study of the Bible and biblical history. It contains six essential OUP Bible texts, including the latest edition of the New Oxford Annotated Bible, as well as deuterocanonical collections, Concordances, and the Oxford Bible Commentary. Search across multiple versions of the Bible, and compare different texts and commentaries in an innovative side-by-side view
The most respected and authoritative biblical reference titles now online
Oxford Biblical Studies Online provides unrivaled access to six essential Oxford editions of the Bible alongside commentary and annotations from study Bibles seamlessly combined with reference material and primary texts.
2010 Booklist Editors' Choice 2010 Library Journal Best Reference
Core content includes: the Oxford Study Bible, New Oxford Annotated Bible 3/e, Jewish Study Bible, Catholic Study Bible 2/e, Access Study Bible with Apocrypha, and the Authorized King James Bible with Apocrypha
Reference, texts and commentaries include Barton: Oxford Bible Commentary, Metzger & Coogan: Oxford Companion to the Bible, Rogerson & Lieu: Oxford Handbook of Biblical Studies, Coogan: Oxford History of the Biblical World, Browning: Oxford Dictionary of the Bible, Meyers: Oxford Encyclopedia of Archeology in the Near East, Schiffman & VanderKam: Encyclopedia of Dead Sea Scrolls , Sparks: The Apocryphal Old Testament, Elliott: The Apocryphal New Testament and McKenzie: How to Read the Bible
Maps and illustrations
Interactive timelines and bibliography
Excellent functionality and extensive links...
Search and browse options allow users to quick search all content simultaneously or to focus on a single type of reference content such as subject articles; chapters; biographies; images; maps; charts; or Bible study
Navigate back and forth between standard reference material and Bible text. Highlight any term within biblical verse and automatically run a quick search
Easily and quickly compare commentaries and texts of multiple bible versions
Extensive cross-searching provides users with access to related content in book, chapters, verse, primary texts, A-Z articles, and biblical text
Entries from Kohlenberger's Concise Concordance to the NRSV and New American Bible Concise Concordance can be viewed with the text of corresponding bibles for study and comparison
An expanding range of carefully selected links to external websites facilitate further research
Off Campus Access
ACCESSING ONLINE RESOURCES from OFF-CAMPUS
Online databases and electronic journals subscribed to by the UST
Libraries are licensed for use by the St. Thomas community ONLY.
Because of this restriction, we need to verify that anyone accessing
these databases is a current member of the St. Thomas community.
This program offers Sacred Scripture, its interpretation in light of Sacred Tradition and the teachings of the Magisterium, with appropriate theological commentary and exegesis. The downloadable version allows you to connect Sacred Scripture to the complete works of many Doctors of the Church, Councils, Encyclicals, teachings of the Popes, Catechisms, as well as commentaries from secular literature, etc.
Use for quick look ups. Oxford Reference Online contains dictionaries, encyclopedias, and Oxford Companions on a wide variety of topics. Brief entries and information about art, biology, business, classics, computing, environmental science, economics, history, language, law, literature, medicine, physical science, political science, quotations, religion and philosophy, and science.
Wiley Online Library (formerly Blackwell Reference Online) is a vast online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences.