Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
2115 Summit Ave, St. Paul, MN 55105
Directions & Parking
African American Artists
Romare Bearden ("In the Garden")
- Willie Cole
- Tyree Guyton
- William H. Johnson
- Jacob Lawrence
- Edmonia (Mary) Lewis
- Gordon Parks
- Faith Ringgold
- Kara Walker
- Carrie Mae Weems
- James Wells
- Fred Wilson
The history of African American art dates back as far as the Colonial period and includes a rich and varied body of work. Artists have used a wide variety of styles and techniques ranging from textile arts to sculpture to mask making.
The University of St. Thomas Libraries have a wealth of information in print and online about the artists and their art. For a concise overview of the topic, head to Oxford Art Online for the introductory essay, "African American Art."
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
The most exhaustive background source for art research. Encyclopedias, dictionaries, the Grove Dictionary of Art and several other resources. Includes extensive image archives from several major North American museums. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Oxford Bibliographies - Art History
Oxford Bibliographies Art History is a guide to scholarly literature in the field, covers major categories of research with bibliographies and recommended resources. Articles are written by established scholars.
Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
The African American Studies Center contains brief articles on all aspects of the African-American experience along with images, primary sources, time lines, maps, tables, and reference resources.
Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Biography in Context includes over 700,000 biographical entries covering more than 400,000 notable international figures from all time periods and areas of study.
Background Information--In Print
Subjects: Aerospace Studies
, Art History
, Catholic Studies
, Computer & Information Sciences