Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide provides information and links to resources for Music in the United States and its roots available at UST Libraries. Use the tabs to help find books, academic articles, videos, and information on how to cite sources. Contact the Music Liaison Librarian if you have questions or need research assistance.
Music Resource Center
The Music Resource Center (MRC), a department of O'Shaughnessy-Frey Library, contains a collection of music scores, recordings and other audio-visual material, playback equipment, and instructional computers.
2115 Summit Avenue
Brady Educational Center, Room 103, South Campus
Mail #BEC 103
St. Paul, MN 55105
Music ReferenceCindy Badilla-Melendezcbadillame@stthoasm.edu
2115 Summit Ave, St. Paul, MN 55105
Directions & Parking
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries Online
The Cambridge history of American music
The History begins with a survey of the music of Native Americans and then explores the social, historical, and cultural events of musical life in the period until 1900. Other contributors examine the growth and influence of popular musics, including film and stage music, jazz, rock, and immigrant, folk, and regional musics
Oxford Music Online
Encyclopedic information on music and musicians. Look up a country and find information on its instruments and music history.
Oxford Reference contains full text dictionaries and encyclopedias from the Oxford University Press. It is easy to search and contains entries on a wide array of topics from business, computing and environmental science to art, biology, literature, religion, and political science.
Music Online: Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online
Over 1,000 articles covering the music of all the world’s peoples, with over 200 audio tracks. Includes overviews of geographic regions, their musical heritages, and descriptions of genres, practices, and performances.
Encyclopedia of American Immigration
Includes overview essays on topics relating to immigration; articles on specific ethnic and national immigrant groups. Each of these essays outlines its group's immigration history, emphasizing what has made each group unique.
Multi-cultural America: an encyclopedia of the newest Americans
Provides overviews of 50 countries who have contributed substantially to the diversity of the United States, exploring all aspects of the immigrants' lives in the old world as well as the new. Each essay explains why these people have come to the United States, how they have adjusted to and integrated into American society, and what portends for their future.
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias in Print