Research and Course Guides: MUSIC by LGBTQIA: Getting Started

Introduction

This guide provides information and links to resources for music that has been composed by LGBTQIA musicians available at UST Libraries. Use the tabs to help find books, academic articles, videos, and information on how to cite sources. Contact the Head of the Music & Media Collection if you have questions or need research assistance.

The Music and Media Collections

The Music and Media Collections house more than 100,000 titles in streaming audio, streaming video, music CDs, DVDs and VHSs. Located in room 104 A in the OSF Librar.The music scores, music books and music journals are located within the OSF Library stacks.

Cindy Badilla-Melendez, Head of the Music and Media Collections/Reference
cbadillame@stthomas.edu
651-962-5464

Circulation Music and Media Collections
(651) 962-5447
email: libmedia@stthomas.edu

Background Information

Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Includes 4 music reference resources: "Grove Music"--full texts of New Grove Music, New Grove Opera, and New Grove Jazz; "Oxford Companion to Music" and "Oxford Dictionary of Music"--concise articles on musicians, individual works, instruments, notation, forms, & genres; and "Encyclopedia of Popular Music"--covers all genres and periods of popular music from 1900 to the present including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.

Cambridge Histories Online - Music
A set of 7 volumes covering music history from the 17th century to the 20th.

Music Online: Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online This link opens in a new window
Over 1,000 articles covering the music of all the world’s peoples, with over 200 audio tracks. Includes overviews of geographic regions, their musical heritages, and descriptions of genres, practices, and performances. Illustrated with photographs, drawings, maps, and musical examples.

Background Info in Print and Online

The Castrati in Opera by Angus Heriot
Call Number: ML 400 H424
Publication Date: 1974
The Queer Composition of America's Sound by Nadine Hubbs
Call Number: ML200.5 .H83 2004
Publication Date: 2004
The Oxford Handbook of the New Cultural History of Music by Jane F. Fulcher (Editor)
Call Number: ONLINE

Library Liaison

Cindy Badilla-Melendez

Email Me

Contact:

Head of the Music and Media Collections
OSF Library 104 B

Subjects:
Media, Music, Modern and Classical Languages, Films Studies, Videos.
For Videos Resources any Subject area.

651-962-5464

Subjects: Film, Languages, Music

About OSF

O'Shaughnessy-Frey Library
651-962-5494 (Circulation)
651-962-5001 (Reference)
651-962-5400 (Hours)
2115 Summit Ave, St. Paul, MN 55105
Directions & Parking
Library Hours