Research and Course Guides: HIST 353 History of the American Revolution: Getting Started

Find Background Information - Companions and Handbooks

Oxford Handbook of the American Revolution
This work provides in-depth analysis of the American Revolution's many sides, ranging from the military and diplomatic to the social and political; from the economic and financial, to the cultural and legal.
Companion to the American Revolution
This volume explores the themes, events, and concepts of this major turning point in early American history. It covers the time periods before, during, and after the war, as well as the effect of the Revolution on a global scale,
Companion to Colonial America
This volume contains essays on key issues and topics in American colonial history.
Companion to 18th Century Britain
This volume contains essays relating to the developments that led to Britain becoming a world power, and a leading European imperial state.

Use these specialized topical sources to browse for paper topics and for information on specific events, places and themes.

Use these specialized topical sources to browse online for paper topics and for information on specific events, places and themes:

Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
The African American Studies Center contains brief articles on all aspects of the African-American experience along with images, primary sources, time lines, maps, tables, and reference resources.
American National Biography Online This link opens in a new window
American National Biography provides biographical information relating to significant men and women from all periods of United States history. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
55,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2003. Limited to 3 simultaneous users.

(she/her)

Email Me

Contact:

O'Shaughnessy-Frey Library | LL09
2115 Summit Avenue
Saint Paul, MN 55105-1086

(651) 962 - 5461

Subjects: History, Irish Studies