Research and Course Guides: GERM 341 Highlights of German Literature I: Getting Started

Introduction

This online guide provides information and links to resources for German Studies available via UST Libraries. Use the tabs to help find books, academic articles, videos, websites as well as information on how to cite sources. Contact the Modern & Classical Liaison Librarian, Cindy Badilla-Melendez, if you have questions or need research assistance

About OSF

O'Shaughnessy-Frey Library
651-962-5494 (Circulation)
651-962-5001 (Reference)
651-962-5400 (Hours)
2115 Summit Ave, St. Paul, MN 55105
Directions & Parking
Library Hours

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
Centuries of analysis - scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals - delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Includes 4 music reference resources: "Grove Music"--full texts of New Grove Music, New Grove Opera, and New Grove Jazz; "Oxford Companion to Music" and "Oxford Dictionary of Music"--concise articles on musicians, individual works, instruments, notation, forms, & genres; and "Encyclopedia of Popular Music"--covers all genres and periods of popular music from 1900 to the present including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
The most exhaustive background source for art research. Encyclopedias, dictionaries, the Grove Dictionary of Art and several other resources. Includes extensive image archives from several major North American museums. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.

Encyclopedia of German Literature
Encyclopedia of German Literature includes a large number of entries on writers, individual work, and topics essential to an understanding of this rich literary tradition.
Encyclopedia of contemporary German culture

German Print Dictionaries

Collins German-English, English-German Dictionary : Unabridged
Call Number: PF3640 .C68 1993 (Reference Collection)
501 German Verbs Fully Conjugated in All the Tenses in a New Easy-to-Learn Format, Alphabetically Arranged
Call Number: PF3271 .S855 1998 (OSF Reference Collection)
A Handbook of English-German Idioms and Useful Expressions
Call Number: PF 3640. S85 (OSF Stacks)

Library Liaison

Cindy Badilla-Melendez

Email Me

Contact:

Head of the Music and Media Collections
OSF Library 104 B

Subjects:
Media, Music, Modern and Classical Languages, Films Studies, Videos.
For Videos Resources any Subject area.

651-962-5464

Subjects: Film, Languages, Music