Research and Course Guides: Library Services for Executive and Health Care MBA Alumni: The Basics

Gone, but not forgotten

Just because you graduated does not mean that you are cut off completely from the UST libraries. This guide will highlight services and resources that will continue to be available to you after graduation.

Business Librarians

Marianne Hageman (St. Paul)
mdhageman@stthomas.edu
651-962-5404

Andrea Koeppe (Mpls.)
andrea.koeppe@stthomas.edu
651-962-4647

Library Resources for Alumni

Electronic Resources and Database Access

Student accounts expire 365 days after their last active term or graduation based on university policy.

Importantly, active student accounts allow access to library databases that includes full text business articles, industry/company reports, and financial data all from remote locations. After the 365 day window when the student account expires, alumni are welcome to use most of the library databases in one of the libraries on campus. Business librarians are always available for consultations regardless of how long after graduation.

This guide highlights the most popular business databases. This is not a complete list, for more information please consult a librarian. Even during times of COVID, librarians are available via Zoom, email, or phone.

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier provides the full text of more than two thousand business publications. It is a comprehensive database that covers all disciplines of business, and is particularly strong in management and health care management topics. It is also the only database with access to current and archive full text articles of the Harvard Business Review.
D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new window
D&B Hoovers provides company information from about 18 million global companies, detailed industry reports, analyst reports, SEC filings, and market research.
eMarketer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
eMarketer provides updated, “grab-and-go” market data, statistics, and analysis on the Internet, e-business, online marketing, media, and emerging technologies. It includes analyst reports, daily research articles, and e-business and online marketing statistics. It is useful for understanding the growth and impact of the Internet, and for keeping abreast of new trends, such as social networking and mobile marketing.
ProQuest US Newsstream, including Star Tribune This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
US Newsstream enables users to search current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. It features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, along with national and regional news sources including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Star Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, and Chicago Tribune.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is an easy-to-search database of frequently sought statistics and studies gathered by government sources, scientific publications, market researchers, non-profits, trade organizations, etc. Individual statistics are usually displayed as a chart and the underlying data is downloadable in Excel.
Value Line Research Center This link opens in a new window
Value Line Research Center provides quarterly-updated reports on over 3,500 stocks, 90 industries, and 2,000 mutual funds; news & analysis; options; convertibles; special situations; and exchange traded funds. Use the “Company name or symbol” search box in the upper right to find a company, or use the company or industry screens in the center of the page.