Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Art Object of the Week
Dionysos mask,2nd-1st Centuries, BC. Found in Myrina. Housed in the Louvre
2115 Summit Ave, St. Paul, MN 55105
Directions & Parking
Welcome to the Art History resource guide! Use this guide to find books, articles, images, and other resources about shape-shifting in Art History.
The University of St. Thomas Libraries have a wealth of information in print and online about artists and their art. Please contact me if you have need help with your research or to add suggestions to this guide.
The Oxford companion to World Mythology (electronic resource)
"Covering all aspects of mythology, this Companion includes essays on the world's major mythological traditions (Greek, Native American, Indian, Japanese, Sumerian, Egyptian), along with retellings of better-known myths, and entries on mythological types, motifs, and figures.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
The most exhaustive background source for art research. Encyclopedias, dictionaries, the Grove Dictionary of Art and several other resources. Includes extensive image archives from several major North American museums. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Oxford Bibliographies - Art History
Oxford Bibliographies Art History is a guide to scholarly literature in the field, covers major categories of research with bibliographies and recommended resources. Articles are written by established scholars.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
A searchable database of more than 1 million images, covering many time periods, cultures and disciplines. Users can search, view and download images.
Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
The African American Studies Center contains brief articles on all aspects of the African-American experience along with images, primary sources, time lines, maps, tables, and reference resources.
Background Information--In Print
Subjects: Aerospace Studies
, Art History
, Catholic Studies
, Computer & Information Sciences