Research and Course Guides: Econ 335: Money, Banking, and Financial Markets: Getting Started

Welcome

Use this guide to find appropriate sources for your research paper.

Other Econ Research Guides

*Economics Research Guide
by Jim Kelly Last Updated Apr 16, 2024 289 views this year
*Datasets & Statistics Guide
by Jim Kelly Last Updated Mar 12, 2024 981 views this year
Business & Economics Encyclopedias
by Jim Kelly Last Updated Jan 16, 2024 11 views this year

Research Paper: Literature Review, Data Sources

Your assignment is a "Literature Review," using scholarly or peer-reviewed journal articles to get the views of academic economists or other professionals on the subject. You must also find quantitative data sources to support arguments you make in support of your thesis. Use the tabs above in this guide to find helpful sources and suggestions on how to use them.

I would be very happy to meet with you on an individual or group basis to help you with search strategies on your specific topic: just use my contact information here to contact me for an appointment.

Economics Encyclopedias

Background Information in Economics: Encyclopedias

Use these specialized topical sources to review concepts, in the early stages of research for topic selection, to find additional sources on a topic, etc.
Subject Encyclopedias for Economics

New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics Online This link opens in a new window
Palgraves is the premier subject encyclopedia for the field. You will find it useful for getting definitive explanations of economic concepts, browsing for research paper topic selection, and locating additional sources for further reading from the article bibliographies. Covers all aspects of the field, including micro and macroeconomics, economic history, econometrics, international, urban, financial, monetary, public, and theoretical economics.

A Financial History of Modern U.S. Corporate Scandals from Enron to Reform
Includes an examination of the collapse of the Enron Corporation and other financial scandals that arose in the wake of the market downturn of 2000, examines the SEC's full disclosure system in corporate governance and the role of accountants in that system, chronicles numerous scandals, and covers the Sarbanes-Oxley Act.
A Financial History of the United States (2002; print)
Vol. I: From Christopher Columbus to the Robber Barons (1492-1900)
Vol. II: From J.P. Morgan to the Institutional Investor (1900-1970)
Vol. III: From the Age of Derivatives into the New Millennium (1970-2001)
A Financial History of the United States: From Enron-Era Scandals to the Subprime Crisis (2004-2006); From the Subprime Crisis to the Great Recession (2006-2009)
An e-book published in 2011 providing a comprehensive treatment of U.S. financial system history during these periods.
more...less...
Table of Contents for the 2nd Volume:
FROM THE SUBPRIME CRISIS TO THE GREAT RECESSION (2006-2009)

Part III. The Growth of the Mortgage Market - 375
9. Securitization - 377
Government Sponsored Enterprises
Mortgage Market Growth
Subprime Lending

10. Prelude To a Crisis - 412
Panics and Bubbles
Run Up to the Real Estate Bubble
The First Cracks Appear
The New Year - 2007

Part IV. The Subprime Crisis - 471
11. The Crisis Begins - 473
A Crumbling Landscape

12. The Great Panic Begins - 524
The Financial Hurricane
More Failures
The Bailout

13. The Crisis Continues - 572
The Contagion Spreads
Dealing with Chaos
The Automakers Fail
The Madoff Fraud and Other Problems
Closing Out the Year

Part V. The Crisis Abates - 623
14. The Rise and Fall of the Subprime Crisis - 625
The New President
Executive Compensation
The Bottom is Reached
Sunrise in America
The Way to Recovery

15. Regulation, Reform, and the Subprime Crisis - 696
Government Housing Policy
Government Economic Policies
SEC Capital Requirements
Other Regulatory Failures
Regulatory Reform
Regulation Abroad
Corporate Governance Reform

Conclusion - 767
Notes - 769
Selected Bibliography - 777
Cumulative Name Index
Cumulative Subject Index
The Blackwell Companion to the Economics of Housing: The Housing Wealth of Nations
Explores issues including volatility of home prices and the implications of such ‘booms and busts’ for the wider economy; the puzzling link between housing wealth and consumption; innovations in mortgage markets including sub-prime and the crisis it precipitated; the changing face of housing risk; and the challenge of mitigation.
Guide to Economic Indicators
Provides access to current and reliable data on the major statistical measures of the U.S. economy, plus explanations of the meaning, use, and availability of macroeconomic indicators.
Handbook of Financial Intermediation and Banking
Treatments of the major financial markets, competition, and regulation.
Handbook of International Trade (Wiley)
This volume explores theories, policies, & issues in the field of International Trade. The chapters focus on four important areas: factor proportions theory, trade policy, investment, and new trade theory. Covers such topics as the Heckscher-Ohlin Trade Model and the Stolper-Samuelson Price Link, wages, antidumping, etc.
Handbook of International Trade: Economic and Legal Analyses of Trade Policy and Institutions (Wiley)
This 2nd volume focuses on the economic and legal analysis of international laws and institutions as they impact trade. Addresses central issues including labor, environmental rights, preferential trade agreements, antitrust policy, patent rights, antidumping, trade liberalization, and foreign direct investment.
Princeton Encyclopedia of the World Economy
Explains the key elements of the world economy with entries covering a wide range of topics in international trade, finance, production, and economic development.