Skip to main content

Historical Business Sources: Getting Started

This guide lists resources that may be of assistance to researchers seeking historical data on businesses. The list is not complete, so if you don't find what you need, please contact a business librarian.

Sources

Historical Business Resources Holdings

This guide lists resources that may be of assistance to researchers seeking historical data on businesses.  The list is not complete, so if you don't find what you need, please contact a business librarian.

Source Dates
Almanac of Business & Industrial Ratios (Troy) Provides financial ratios for companies in various asset ranges by SIC code. Data reported are based on aggregate numbers from IRS records. 1975 – present (incomplete run)

Annual Statement Studies (RMA) Contains composite financial data on manufacturing, wholesaling, retailing, service, and contracting lines of business

1977 – present (incomplete run)
Balance of Payment Statistics A statistical statement that summarizes the economic transactions of an economy with the rest of the world. 1977 – present
Barron’s  The Dow Jones business and financial weekly.

1975 – present

Business Statistics of the United States Covers historical and current statistics on all aspects of business including GDP by state and region. 1973 - present (incomplete run)
Business Week Business news, stock market and financial advice. 1933 – present
Consumer Reports Unbiased tests, ratings and reviews on the top and worst rated products. 1964 – present
Corporate Report Fact Book A comprehensive study of corporate training budgets, spending, delivery volumes, staffing, and trends containing facts and statistics as well as extensive analysis and interpretation. 1976 - 2008
CRB Commodity Yearbook Commodity and futures market information available from the Commodity Research Bureau that reports from governments, private industries, and trade and industrial associations. 1974 – present
Demographics USA – County Population and other demographic data, household data, EBI, BPI, retail sales and number of establishments by store group, consumer expenditure data, establishments & employment data, and occupation data. last 10 years
Demographics USA – Zip Code Edition Demographic and marketing variables by zip code. last 10 years
Direction of Trade Statistics Contains data on the value of merchandise exports and imports between each country and all its trading partners. 1958 – present
Dun & Bradstreet Industry Norms & Key Business Ratios Uses information from public and private companies in to calculate key business ratios and norms for a wide range of industry segments, enabling users to compare a company with others in its industry. 2000 – present
Economic Report of the President An annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisors over viewing the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices. 1948 – present
Editor & Publisher Market Guide Source for valuable, descriptive information for MSA and non-MSA markets in the United States and Canada and critical market data. 1991 – present
FDIC Annual Report An independent agency created by the Congress to maintain stability and public confidence in the nation's financial system by identifying, monitoring and addressing risks to the deposit insurance funds. 1937 – 1979
Forbes A source for the latest business and financial news and analysis. Covering personal finance, lifestyle, technology and stock markets. 1917 – present
Fortune Provides expert reporting on modern business ideas, in-depth strategies and analysis, practical advice on personal and annual lists like the "Most Powerful Women" and "Fortune 500." 1930 – present
Handbook of U.S. Labor Statistics Includes the Bureau's projections of employment in the U.S. by industry and occupation. Provides a wide variety of data on the work force, prices, fringe benefits, and consumer expenditures. 1968 – present
Industry Week The management resource for small manufacturers. 1981 – present
International Directory of Company Histories Provides detailed histories of many of the largest and most influential companies worldwide. 1989 – present
International Financial Statistics Provides a complete library of continuously updated international statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance
Internationa Financial Statistics (Online)
1963 – present
Lifestyle Market Analyst Market Profiles, Lifestyle Profiles, Consumer Segment Profiles that analyze the characteristics of households that fit certain demographic and economic criteria

2000 – present

Manufacturing U.S.A. Presents statistics on numerous NAICS classifications in the manufacturing, wholesaling and retail industries. 1989 – 2004
Market Share Reporter  Presents market share data on over four thousand companies, and 2,500 products, facilities, and brands. 1996 – present
Mergent Annual Dividend Record Information on common and preferred dividend-paying stocks and mutual funds, provides the latest information on cash and stock dividends, stock splits and rights issues.
• Moody’s Annual Dividend Record 1977 – 2001

2002 – present

Mergent Bond Record Provides the most complete and accurate coverage available on corporate, government, municipal, industrial development/environmental control revenue and international bonds, plus structured finance and equipment trust issues, medium-term notes, convertible issues, preferred stocks and commercial paper issues. 2000 – present
Mergent Credit Survey
• Moody’s Bond/Credit Survey  1995 – 2001
2002 – present
Mergent Handbook of Common Stocks Offers quick and easy access to key financial statistics and offers market data, performance ratios, stock prices, and dividend information and recent quarterly results. 2003 – present
Mergent Manuals on Microfiche (Prior to 2002 was Moody's in subdivision)
• Bank & Finance  1928 - 2001
• Industrial  1920 - 2001
• International  1981 - 2001
• Municipal & Government  1918 - 2001
• OTC Industrial  1970 - 2001
• OTC Unlisted  1986 - 2001
• Public Utilities  1914 - 2001
• Transportation  1910 - 2001
2002-present
Morningstar Mutual Fund 500 In-depth reports for 500 of the largest and most-popular mutual funds with every essential fact and data going back up to 12 years. last 10 years

National Account Statistics
National accounts statistics. Analysis of main aggregates.  1982-1989, 1998/1999
National accounts statistics. Government accounts and tables.  1982-1983
National accounts statistics. Main aggregates and detailed tables. 1982-present
National accounts statistics. Series X 1993
National accounts statistics. Special number. 1993
National accounts statistics. Statistique des comptes nationaux, 1958-1967
National accounts statistics : study of input-output tables. 1970-1980

1984 – present
National Tax Association Proceedings The leading association of tax professionals dedicated to advancing understanding of the theory and practice of public finance. 1941 - 2007
National Transportation Statistics Provides statistics on the U.S. transportation system, including its physical components, safety record, economic performance, the human and natural environment, and national security. 1984 - present (incomplete run)
Sourcebook of County Demographics Contains updated demographic, consumer spending, and business data variables for every U.S. county, including updated demographics, consumer spending, business summary data, summary data and maps. last 10 years
Sourcebook of Zip Code Demographics Contains comprehensive, accurate information for every U.S. ZIP Code, including updated demographics, business data, consumer spending, tapestry segmentation and maps. last 10 years
Standard & Poor’s Industry Surveys Overviews of 50+ "big picture" industries. Print volumes for pre-1998 data. 1977 – present
Standard & Poor’s Stock Reports Provides information on issues including foreign bond and stock prices. 1998 – present
Statistical Abstract of the United States A comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
Online Edition (2012+)
1921 – 2012
Stocks, Bonds, Bills & Inflation (Ibbotson) Industry standard source for determining the appropriate cost of capital to use for the most accurate business valuations of US-based businesses. 1985 – present
U.S. Industrial Outlook  Provides coverage and analysis of United States business and industry. 1978 - 1999
Valueline Investment Survey Provides investment research on stocks, mutual funds, options and convertibles, and offers a family of no-load mutual funds.

1998 – present

Vital Statistics of the United States Reports present detailed vital statistics data, including natality, mortality, marriage and divorce. 1966 – 1993
Wall Street Journal Covers U.S. and international business and financial news and issues. 1955 – present
Wall Street Transcript An investment research publication interviewing well known analysts, money managers and CEOs who recommend stocks and analyze market trends 1981 – 1997
Ward’s Automotive Yearbook Articles summarizing events that shaped the automotive industry for the year.
Online
1977 – present
World Development Report Provides a wide international readership with an extraordinary window on development economics. 1979 - present
World Economic Outlook Provides economists' analyses of global economic developments, gives an overview as well as more detailed analysis of the world economy; consider issues affecting industrial countries, developing countries, and economies in transition to market; and address topics of pressing current interest.
Online Edition
1960 – present
Yearbook of International Trade Statistics 1951 - 2004
Yearbook of Labor Statistics 1976 - present

Business Librarians

Marianne Hageman (St. Paul)
mdhageman@stthomas.edu
651-962-5404

John Heintz (St. Paul & Mpls.)
jpheintz@stthomas.edu
651-962-5018

Andrea Koeppe (Mpls.)
andrea.koeppe@stthomas.edu
651-962-4647

Janice Kragness (St. Paul & Mpls)
jlkragness@stthomas.edu
651-962-5412