Research and Course Guides: +Geography Resources: Getting Started

Introduction

This online guide provides information and quick links to geographic resources available via UST Libraries. Use the tabs (above) to help find books, articles, media resources, geography websites and citation management tools. Contact the liaison librarian (right) if you have questions or need research assistance.

National Geographic Society Daily News

NGS Daily News

UST Geography Department

Mapping database: SimplyAnalytics

SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use SimplyMap to create clean, legible, detailed thematic maps for presentations, reports, grant applications, business plans, and research projects. Data variables can be viewed at the State, County, ZIP Code, Tract and Block Group levels. Customize your maps, from colors and boundaries to the number of data categories. SimplyMap includes access to thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables such as consumer expenditure, lifestyles, market segments, and more.

Reference Works - Background Information

Britannica Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Britannica Academic Edition contains the Encyclopaedia Britannica, one of the largest, most authoritative encyclopedias in the world. Besides articles it includes ebooks, links to major news stories from the New York Times and the BBC, maps, photos, and other multi-media tools such as interactive timelines and videos. It also has Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, and the Britannica Student Encyclopedia.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference contains full text dictionaries and encyclopedias from the Oxford University Press. It is easy to search and contains entries on a wide array of topics from business, computing and environmental science to art, biology, literature, religion, and political science.