This online guide provides information and links to resources for Films Studies via UST Libraries. Use the tabs to help find books, academic articles, videos, websites as well as information on how to cite sources. Contact the Films/Theater Liaison
Last Updated: Sep 20, 2011
This online guide provides information and links to resources for Films/Theatrer Studies available via UST Libraries. Use the tabs to help find books, academic articles, videos, websites as well as information on how to cite sources. Contact the Film/Theater liaison librarian if you have questions or need research assistance
O' Shaughnessy-Frey Library
2115 Summit Ave, St. Paul, MN 55105
Directions & Parking
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
Full-text encyclopedias and dictionaries.
- History of American Cinema
This 10-volume series considers the film industry from its early roots in the 19th century through the 1980s. It examines the development of film and the film industry, analyzing both the genres, themes and technology that defined each decade and the political and economic background that gave rise to them.
- International Directory of Films and Filmmakers
Features thorough coverage of legendary films, actors, actresses, directors, writers, and other production artists through detailed essays and commentary by experts. Entries include biographies, filmographies, comprehensive credits, production information, major awards, and bibliographies.
- Blackwell Companion to Literature & Film
A Companion to Literature and Film provides state-of-the-art research on world literature, film, and the complex theoretical relationship between them.
- Blackwell Companion to Film Theory
Offers an international approach to the subject, including coverage of topics such as genre, image, sound, editing, postmodernism, culture industries, early cinema, classical Hollywood, and TV relations and technology
- Credo-Chambers Film Factfinder
Biographies of actors and directors offer suggested career ‘highs’ and ‘lows’; genre and country sections give brief factual histories, alongside lists of key people and films; and the selection of notable films is designed to provoke interest and discussion, rather than representing a ‘best-of’ list. The reference section includes essential facts, figures and definitions, as well as varied and highly readable lists on such subjects as censored films.
- Blackwell Companion to Television
A collection of original essays that chart the history of television from its inception to the present day. Over thirty leading scholars across the humanities and social sciences look at television scholarship as it responded to technological, institutional, and aesthetic changes around the world.