A guide to useful sources for the research paper assignment in Econ 335
Last Updated: Mar 10, 2014
Use this guide to find appropriate sources for your research paper.
Economics Research Guide
- Last Updated Mar 17, 2014
This guide will direct you to appropriate resources for use in your Economics research project. Start here with some of these suggested resources in subject encyclopedias, or move directly to one of the other tabs for that type of information.
697 views this year
Statistical Resources Guide
- Last Updated May 2, 2014
This guide is UST Libraries primary resource for tips on locating statistics for general use and for support of the economics & business courses. Useful for all disciplines, but also for Econ 311 & Econ 315.
462 views this year
Business & Economics Encyclopedias
- Last Updated Apr 1, 2014
Sources for background information, definitions, and research topic selection in business and economics. Most of these are online.
101 views this year
Your assignment is a "Literature Review," using scholarly or peer-reviewed journal articles to get the views of academic economists or other professionals on the subject. You must also find quantitative data sources to support arguments you make in support of your thesis. Use the tabs above in this guide to find helpful sources and suggestions on how to use them.
I would be very happy to meet with you on an individual or group basis to help you with search strategies on your specific topic: just use my contact information here to contact me for an appointment.
Background Information in Economics: Encyclopedias
Use these specialized topical sources to review concepts, in the early stages of research for topic selection, to find additional sources on a topic, etc.
- New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics Online
Palgraves is the premier subject encyclopedia for the field. You will find it useful for getting definitive explanations of economic concepts, browsing for research paper topic selection, and locating additional sources for further reading from the article bibliographies. Covers all aspects of the field, including micro and macroeconomics, economic history, econometrics, international, urban, financial, monetary, public, and theoretical economics.
- A Financial History of Modern U.S. Corporate Scandals from Enron to Reform
Includes an examination of the collapse of the Enron Corporation and other financial scandals that arose in the wake of the market downturn of 2000, examines the SEC's full disclosure system in corporate governance and the role of accountants in that system, chronicles numerous scandals, and covers the Sarbanes-Oxley Act.
- A Financial History of the United States (2002; e-book)
Vol. I: From Christopher Columbus to the Robber Barons (1492-1900)
Vol. II: From J.P. Morgan to the Institutional Investor (1900-1970)
Vol. III: From the Age of Derivatives into the New Millennium (1970-2001)
- A Financial History of the United States: From Enron-Era Scandals to the Subprime Crisis (2004-2006); From the Subprime Crisis to the Great Recession (2006-2009)
An e-book published in 2011 providing a comprehensive treatment of U.S. financial system history during these periods.
- The American Economy: A Historical Encyclopedia
A compilation of short entries, longer topical essays, and primary source documents chronicles the historical development of the United States from an economic perspective.
- The Blackwell Companion to the Economics of Housing: The Housing Wealth of Nations
Explores issues including volatility of home prices and the implications of such ‘booms and busts’ for the wider economy; the puzzling link between housing wealth and consumption; innovations in mortgage markets including sub-prime and the crisis it precipitated; the changing face of housing risk; and the challenge of mitigation.
- An Encyclopedia of Macroeconomics
A reference source on macroeconomics, including definitions of terms and concepts, conflicting ideological approaches, and the contributions of major thinkers.
- Guide to Economic Indicators
Provides access to current and reliable data on the major statistical measures of the U.S. economy, plus explanations of the meaning, use, and availability of macroeconomic indicators.
- Handbook of Financial Intermediation and Banking
Treatments of the major financial markets, competition, and regulation.
- Handbook of International Trade, Vol. I
This volume explores theories, policies, & issues in the field of International Trade. The chapters focus on four important areas: factor proportions theory, trade policy, investment, and new trade theory. Covers such topics as the Heckscher-Ohlin Trade Model and the Stolper-Samuelson Price Link, wages, antidumping, etc.
- Handbook of International Trade, vol. II
This 2nd volume focuses on the economic and legal analysis of international laws and institutions as they impact trade. Addresses central issues including labor, environmental rights, preferential trade agreements, antitrust policy, patent rights, antidumping, trade liberalization, and foreign direct investment.
- Handbook of United States Economic and Financial Indicators
includes entries on 284 indicators, identifying and describing them, plus showing how they are calculated, where they are published, and where one can find further information about them.
- Princeton Encyclopedia of the World Economy
Explains the key elements of the world economy with entries covering a wide range of topics in international trade, finance, production, and economic development.
Concerned about Plagiarism? You should be! View this multi-media tutorial for more information.